Housekeeping, Growing Vegetables, Beekeeping, Mushrooms, Gardening in Joinville, Brazil

Country

Brazil

updated  

Favourited 453 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    24  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    04/07/2020

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    1377

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    97.3 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 17 days

  • Badges

    Top Host
    Facebook verified
 
  2020 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    This 14-hectare farm is located in a protected area in the Atlantic Forest in Southern Brazil, between the towns of Joinville and Campo Alegre. This was once a dairy farm. Since 2015, I (Alexandre, 32) have been living there, trying to repurpose the farm by initiating the production of organic food, aligned with the principles of agroecology. I am also starting to promote the reforestation of degraded areas using native species. My partner Larissa also moved to the farm in August 2019 and now we live and work together here.
    Workawayers are welcome to stay at the farm in a spacious wooden-house where we currently live. Rooms can also be rented for turists.
    Workawayers can engage in different activities, including (1) the production of honey (beehive maintenance, wax extraction, among other tasks not directly involved with bee handling); (2) the production of shiitake mushrooms (inoculation and incubation); (3) the production of eggs (free range poultry); (4) the renovation and organization of the farm house; and (5) gardening/horticulture. Besides, they can also help with my little organic groceries production and young agroforestry systems. When the weather does not allow for outdoor activities (we could have some rainy days in a row), workawayers are expected to help with tasks inside the house as well, such as cleaning and painting.
    I hold a B.Sc. in Agricultural Engineering from the University of São Paulo (ESALQ-USP) and Larissa holds a B.Sc. in Agricultural Engineering from the University of São Carlos (UFSCar). We like to have people around and we see it as a great opportunity for ourselves as well to exchange experiences and acquire new skills. If you want to, we're sure you will also learn a lot!

    We are vegetarians =)


    Be welcome.

    Alexandre and Larissa.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Travelers will be able to speak portuguese, to learn about the production of mushrooms, about agroforestry systems, about bees and about brazilian environmental laws. Besides they will be totally connected to nature, because the farm lies on one of the most richest and preserved rainforest areas in Brazil.

  • Help

    Help

    Volunteers may work with shiitake mushrooms, agroforestry, horticulture, cooking for themselves and others, helping with house maintenance and gardening.
    We work from monday to friday from 7h to 12h. We give lunch and dinner, but no breakfast. We don't work at weekends and food is not included on weekends.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English, French (un petit peu), German, Spanish (Portuñol) , Portuguese

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    You could stay alone or share your room with another person from the same gender. It depends on how many guests are staying at the moment. Plus there are 3 bathrooms, living room and kitchen.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Here you will have a lot of contact with nature and you will be able to see how a small farm can be managed. The nearest market is about 25 km away, so the here is to have peace, to take your time with studies and concentrate in new things you will learn. By staying with us you will not only be working but you will really be learning what you are doing and questioning the methods. Here we can communicate us in english (fluent), german (fluent), french (doucement, s'il te plait), portuguese (fluent) and portuñol.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    5 hours a day mon-friday, meals include only lunch and dinner, weekends no work & no meals included

Our house
Passion fruit, physalis, tomatoes...
Some work at our agroforestry system
Beekeeping!
This house was completely abandoned and with the help of workawayers I was able to turn it into a beautiful blue house.
Working with bees always need a deeper look at the hives before managing them.
Some Shiitake produced here.

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)

















Host ref number: 199825374875