Join our family life in Hohenleipisch, Germany

  • Germany
  • Favourited 568 times
  • Last activity: 5 Jun 2023



 Min stay requested: at least 3 weeks



  • Description


    Come to the eastern part of Germany and join our life. Please read our profile in detail and check our calendar first before you send us a message.

    We have not hosted helpers for a longer time due to Covid and all the regulations in Germany. Now we would like to start hosting again.

    We are a family of 3: Kerstin (55), Carsten (56) and Christopher (29). We live in a village on an estate that was a farm in the past. The village is situated 60 km from Dresden, 100 km from Leipzig and 170 km from Berlin in a national park. We have one cat that lives with us, too.

    We invite you into our home and accept you as part of our family. We do our best to make you feel at home and appreciate any additional assistance. If you join us it will be fun, promise. Our place is for genuine travelers who want to learn more about Germany and experience staying with an East German family. It is not for those looking just for food and accommodation.

    Much help is needed in and around the house and volunteers are welcome. Your tasks would include cleaning, assisting in the garden, watering the plants, etc. We also want to reconstruct the buildings and the old barn. We are flexible with chores and there is always a bit of give and take. We always try to be fair and reasonable and expect the same in return.

    It is essential that you like cats as there will be times when you will need to feed and take care of our cat Bonnie.

    We offer our hospitality and invite you to join our life. You can learn German and live like a German, travel around in the area and enjoy the beautiful countryside and lovely places. We integrate you into our life and are happy to show the history and culture of the surrounding castles, towns and villages.

    Minimum stay 3 weeks, average stay is 4 weeks, long term possible (after a trial period).

    Volunteering hours are flexible, 5 hours per day, 5 days per week. We expect active, responsible, motivated, respectful and reliable guests, who also "see" the jobs that have to be done and work on their own initiative and who can say thank you. If you do not like talking and socializing, if you cannot accept rules, schedules and punctuality, our house is the wrong place. When in China, do as the Chinese do, when in Portugal, do as the Portuguese do, when in Germany, do as the Germans do. We are very organized and like a clean and nice home.

    Being a member of different platforms we had many helpers, all different personalities. But I get many requests that are very simple and impersonal. And helpers demand more than we can offer (like visa, pay, paying travel etc). Before applying please make sure you have read our profile in detail. We don't answer general requests, that are sent to many hosts. We appreciate personal messages, so tell us, why you have chosen our family to be your future host.

    We share our daily meals and food with you, but we are not ready to change our diet and our meal plan and adopt it to very special needs. There is a German saying: You eat what is on the table. All our helpers so far were happy with that.

    You live in our office & guest room. Non-smokers only. No drugs. You have internet access.

    If you
    - are sociable, active, communicative
    - don't smoke
    - are organized and willing to accept our way of life and our schedule and rules
    - like cats
    - are not just looking for a bed and food
    - can also enjoy a calm village life
    then our family could be the right place for you.

    You have to like cats and have no cat allergy. Non-smokers only. No drugs. You need your own health insurance and visa.

    Long-term possible, too. Couples and friends welcome.

    We do our best to make your stay with us a memory. But keep in mind that we are also working and run our businesses and we are not responsible for a 24/7 entertainment. You should be able to be on your own at times and organize your freetime too.

    Feel free to contact us for further information. Please mention "Explore the east" in your initial message.

    Hope to see you soon in Germany.

    Kerstin, Carsten and Christopher

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Language practice
    Elderly Companionship
    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance
    Help with Computers/ Internet
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Join our German life and be part of our daily life. We love to talk, exchange ideas, cook, go on excursions, show you around.

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help


    Minimum stay 3 weeks, long term possible after a trial period, tasks: catsitting, housework, gardening, help on the estate, reconstruction tasks, processing fruits, help in the house, help in the garden and house of the parents (Oma & Opa). Flexible hours and flexible days off.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    German: Fluent
    English: Fluent
    French: Fluent
    Russian: Fluent

    This host offers a language exchange
    I am a language teacher and can help with learning German. My mum will also be happy to have daily conversations in German. She helped many helpers to learn and improve their German language skills.

  • Accommodation


    You live in our house (in the office & guest room).

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    You have to like cats and have no cat allergy. Non-smokers only. No drugs. You need your own health insurance and visa.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?


  • ...

    Hours expected

    5 hours per day, flexible hours, 2 days off per week

Host ref number: 199298448135

Feedback (34)


These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)

Help me with a DIY project in Frankfurt, Germany
Help us renovate our non-profit green co-working and meeting space in the countryside next to Berlin, Germany