Help me create a paradise on an ancient farm in Vale de Prazeres, Portugal

  • Favourited 53 times
  • Last activity: 10 Apr 2024

Availability

  2024 

 Min stay requested: No minimum

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Details

  • Description

    Description

    Hi there and welcome to my workaway profile 🤗

    First a little something about me my name is Silvan and i‘m 33 years old born and raised in switzerland my friends describe me as a happy thoughtful and energetic lad with a creativ mind and a backpack full of humour.

    I love traveling nature exploring , sports, gardening and landscaping, food-cooking & wine

    Traveling aswell is what brought me here to Portugal in 2019 i walked a part of the Camino Portugues and ended up here in Vale de Prazeres as a Volunteer.

    for almost 1.5 Years i helped and worked for several families here in Vale de Prazeres and i fell in love with the freedom, possabilities and nature in the region.

    The families are now either my very best friends or my neighbours. After good 1.5 years of tracking down the property owners and getting a signing agreement i can very happily call my self a farm owner ✨

    My dream is to put all my love energy and passion into this place to create a environment where everybody can enjoy the benefits of the country life.

    My main interest lays in biodiversity i plan to plant a huge variaty of trees bushes shrubs herbs flowers and ornamentals on my property which will hopefully blow everybodys mind one day.

    fancy giving me a hand and beeing part of this journey?

    Well then send me a text and let me know who you are and what your up to 😉

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Art Projects
    Help with Eco Projects
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Farmstay help
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    I can teach you something about beneficial plants and herbs, general gardening, soil, some permaculture principals, landscaping, pruning trees etc. irrigation systems pretty much everything which has to be done on a farm .. got some construction skills love woodworking and much more .

    I can show or direct you towards some of the nicest places to visit in the region and i‘ll try my very best to make you have a great experience and a good time here in Vale de prazeres.

  • Help

    Help

    I can need all sort of help and i’m super looking forward to have a learning experience exchange there are soo many little and bigger jobs to be done on the farm and i‘m sure whe find something you‘d like doing 🤗 (The type of work usualy depends a lot on the season! In summer the main goal is to stay cool ---> easy work in the morning or evening..)

    Super open to learn some skills from you aswell! Whatever you can offer let me know i‘m curious !

    *If you do have a driving license or maybe even a car or van you‘d be a massive help as i not yet have neither of them

    (within 15 minutes walk from my property there is a train station with connections to the bigger surrounding towns where i mostly once a week go to the market and do shopping—> or towards lisbon&porto☀️)

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    German: Fluent
    English: Fluent
    Portuguese: Intermediate
    Spanish: Beginner

    This host offers a language exchange
    This host has indicated that they are interested in sharing their own language or learning a new language.
    You can contact them directly for more information.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Tent or Caravan (no grid for caravans)

    Electric devices can be charged in my cabin and you are welcome to use my shower and if needed kitchen as long it all is left as tidy as you found it 😅

    In case you don't have a tent you are welcome to use mine i aswell can sort you out with a sleeping bag and all you need to get it comfy.
    (In late spring, summer and autumn it's almost nicer in the tent as you can see all the stars and sometimes there is a lovely cooling breeze)

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    There are some nice walks and hiking trails close to my property and the gardunha mountain , rivers and lakes are accessible by car within 30 minutes.

    Monsanto , Serra de Estrela, Penamacor and much more beautiful places are well worth a visit

    How i‘d like to live my life?

    Free in a place where i can be creative and my time gets lost in something i love doing..

    My expectations from a guest?

    Be your self!

    My house is your house as long you treat it with respect ! 🙏

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    Travelers with theyr Van are super welcome and i am sure whe find a good spot where you can camp! I can sort you out with drinking water and electrics (no main grid!) --> you can charge your devices in my cabin and in case you need a shower the cabin is yours...

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets

    This host has said they are willing to accept those travelling with a pet.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 3-4 hours 5 days a week

Host ref number: 141651273444

Feedback

Sustainable Food Sovereignty project near the waterfalls & ocean, on the lost island of Atlantis (Flores), Portugal
Help on an established eco farm in Central Portugal