Help our family with an interesting DIY project in Woltersdorf near Berlin, Germany

Country

Germany

updated  

Favourited 120 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    1  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    18/01/2022

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    62.9 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 11 days

 
  2022 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Berlin-Woods-Building- Playing and so much more.....
    I am a single and working mum with two children (9/12) on the borders of Berlin and actually almost in the middle of the woods. I am looking for somebody really wanting to live/share family life and support us in various way’s ... being a companion to us, cooking, playing, laughing with us and and and and....

    As our third workawayer really turned into our friend and stayed for more than half a year, we are now ready to embark on a new, happily on a longer journey. But we are also open to short term visits and intensive encounters.

    Our home is an old wooden house from 1905 with a very interesting history. There is plenty of room/space, but also plenty of tasks. You'll find us right at the border to Berlin almost in the woods and still within a five minutes bike ride to the S-Bahn (Erkner) to Berlin City Center.

    I am working as a social scientist and professor at a University in Berlin. In the past and before turning into a family mum I have travelled intensively and volunteered myselve. I even wrote my dissertation on volunteering in the global south. So, I know about the highlights and challenges. I am an adventurous person myselve, love roadtrips and exploring the near and the far.

    My children are 12 and 9. Liv loves all kinds of creative activities and dancing, she just changed school from a Montessori to a regular school and sometimes needs support with her homework or would love to chat in english, spanish, .....she would also appreciate help with the piano.
    Fred is a very funny and gifted craftsman, he loves martial arts, soccer and Lego. With an attention deficit and learning difficulties he sometimes needs an accompanyment and support. He's a great guy to be with and loves bon fires and the woods.

    As the house ist magic but also challenging in terms of tasks and maintenance I am asking for support in refurnishing. The wooden walls need some sanding and paint, partly I would love to remove the paint from the doors and floors and install new floor cover. So it would be great if you have some skills with regards to wood and building. It is a plus if you know how to work electric tools and manual axt to do fire wood and fence building and and and

    Besides these tasks there is always something to do in terms of housekeeping (Laundry, cleaning jobs) and cooking. As you can see there is a huge garden, I need help with cutting the trees or picking weed and brushing leaves.

    Of couse, I know myselve, one person cannot do all these things. So maybe you find yourselve in one of these tasks and explore some other new things. we are not looking for somebody just needing a job and accomocation, but somebody who really wants to share and create daily life with us, eager to learn with each other, to have fun and to face new challenges.

    I am also a yoga teacher and maybe we find some time to practise yoga or to go on weekend excursions together. There is a lot to see and we are surrounded by beautiful lakes, own a SUP and a small pool. We enjoy both sides of Berlin/Brandenburg and would love to show you the quiet hideaways as well as the vibrant life of Berlin. We love cultural events, visit museums, exhibitions and concerts if possible but we also like to light a fire and sit together with our friends.

    As music plays an important role in our life, we have plenty of instruments such as a piano, several guitars and drums in the house.
    So, you're very welcome to join in!
    Ute, Liv & Fred

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Language practice
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Babysitting and creative play
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We are very much immersed in cultural life and offer you to join us in all these activities as sool´n as they are available again. I am also an artsi person and you're very welcome to do small diy projects such as pottery, weaving or .... with me. wehenever there is time and space, I am doing yoga. I am a certified yoga teacher and there is a second mat!
    More generally, there is a lot to experience historically in eastern Germany and as an east-west-family we love to talk about german-german history and of course: We love to hit the road and travel across Germany.... there is also a little flat at the baltic sea or go camping. Come along with us!

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help

    Help

    - Refurnishment of wooden rooms (Sanding, varnishing, painting, flooring)
    - Gardening (planting, caring for vegetables, removing weed)
    - Interacting/playing with the kids; language exchange

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    French: Intermediate
    Spanish: Beginner

    This host offers a language exchange
    This host has indicated that they are interested in sharing their own language or learning a new language.
    You can contact them directly for more information.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    One big room (bed, desk, closet, etc....) of your own. Bathroom with shower for your own.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    C'mon Berlin is in front of the door and if not interested in big city life, there is plenty of nature, beautiful lakes and hideaways not far from us.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    This host has indicated that they love having digital nomads stay.

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    This host can provide space for campervans.

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets

    a dog is very welcome

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week



Host ref number: 197775456663