Help out on a New Organic Farm on St Thomas, US Virgin Islands

Country

Virgin Islands (U.S.)

Favourited 301 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    4  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    02/12/2020

  • Badges

 
  2020 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are a couple with who just started a organic farm at our home on St Thomas. We are 10 mins from the beach and in the center of the island and are looking for people that have farm expertise. We offer a studio apt that has full bathroom and small kitchen. We don't offer meals but there is lots yummy veggies from our garden we are always happy to share :) . I work as a Photographer and my girlfriend works as I.T. and we both work from our home and are foodies that wanted to start growing everything we eat. We bake our own bread, make our own pasta, pestos and much more, but always room to learn more from our guests.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    General Maintenance
    Farmstay help
    Help with Eco Projects
    Language practice
    Teaching

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We both enjoy farming and cooking all the yummy food from our garden, plus if you enjoy the beach we are just mins away from Magen's Beach. The biggest selling point is the wonderful Virgin Islands which I have called home for 23 years.

  • Help

    Help

    Farming help, 5 hours a day 5 days a week, we just put in a greenhouse and 10 raised beds. We also need help with stone work, planting trees.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Intermediate

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Studio Apt with full bathroom and small kitchen

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Lots to do and see, beaches, diving, hiking, water sports ,other islands or the hammock under our favorite trees.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    5 hours a day, 5 days a week




Host ref number: 196414985425