experience country life in rural BC

Country

Canada

updated  

Favourited 216 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    8  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    17/09/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 2 days

  • Badges

    Super Host
Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: No minimum

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    My husband and I live on a 76 acre farm in the North Okanagan of BC. We have our faithful dog Ginger who makes everyone welcome. We live 28 km from the nearest town and enjoy the peace and quiet that surrounds us. We have a large garden, a commercial raspberry patch and fruit trees. We also raise some chickens and a few pigs. In the summer we put food up for the winter, canning, freezing, drying. We are looking for help in the spring bringing in firewood. Starting in April when the gardening starts in earnest. We will need someone during berry season, mid-June to August for help picking strawberries and raspberries and work in the garden in general. Depending on the weather and time of year, we usually work in the mornings and evenings when it is a bit cooler and spend the afternoons cooling off at the nearby Shuswap River or at Mabel Lake. In the fall we would like someone who will help us with harvesting of fruit and the garden. We enjoy meeting travellers from all over and helping them discover the joy of rural living. If you are interested, we would love to meet you.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Farmstay
    Help in the house
    Animal care

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We live a simple life in the country, raising the food we eat and gathering the wood to heat our house. Many people today have lost touch with where their food comes from and time spent growing, picking and preserving helps one to appreciate the good things we have.

  • Help

    Help

    We have many different tasks that need doing and they vary depending on the time of year. In the spring we'll be preparing garden beds and planting. In the spring e will be bringing in firewood for the winter and repairing fences that have winter damage. In the summer it will be picking berries and weeding and in the fall the jobs will be harvesting and putting food up for the winter, canning, freezing, drying.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We have a cabin in the woods, it is about 5 minutes walk from the house.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We live near the Shuswap River and Mabel Lake and about an hours drive from many hiking trails in the Monashee Mountains. We encourage travellers to spend some time exploring these beautiful natural areas.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    5 hours a day 5-7 days a week

Kalamalka Lake
surrounding area
cabin









Host ref number: 19565349464d