Help a family create sustaining energy loops between plant and animal, forest and field on 10 acres in Balfour, BC, Canada




Favourited 27 times

  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Last activity


  • Badges

  • Description


    My name is Kale. In the spring of 2022, I landed on a 40 acre piece of land near Black Creek, British Columbia, with a long term lease.
    I am a father of 2 boys and homesteader at heart. We are working from the ground up; the land is Raw and all projects started from their beginning! The boys unfortunately are too young to be of much use with the big work. Thus, You fine folks come to mind!
    Small scale Permaculture systems are my method and I aim to create sustaining energy loops between plant and animal, forest and field.
    Lots of Potential here right now and lots of open canvass!

    Spring 2022 Update:

    My Family has moved to Vancouver Island! We have signed a lease to farm, with the amazing help of the young agrarians.
    We are breaking ground this year, and setting up fences. We are getting really good at making fences!

    As disclaimed, the living here is rustic, be prepared for wood fire showers, off grid living, and hard homesteading!
    The right person/people would find ample camping, radishes, greens and peas ready to eat, and the ocean a short drive away.

    The work happening these days consists of digging, fencing, weeding, digging, rock stacking, firewood, digging, brushing...did I mention digging?

    Regardless, if you want to get a tan, drink clean water, build that beach body and grow some food in a hurry, while not being bored at all, let me know.

    Happy travels wherever you are, and looking forward to checking in with you!

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Art Projects
    Language practice
    Help with Eco Projects
    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Farmstay help
    Babysitting and creative play
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We are True Canadian bush family, well versed in outdoor activities with a speciality in primitive skills. No doubt we lead a North American life to a certain extent but it is a rustic, wholesome and slightly different style here.
    The area I live in has a long history of people (pre- and post-colonialism), a rich biodiversity of plants and animals and an ancient, rich geology. There is a lot to learn here, and lots of opportunities!

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help


    Spring 2022 will see soil building, compost creating, brush thinning, garden digging, woodshed erecting, chicken coop hutching, rock masoning, firewood collecting, hugelkulturing, greenhouse designing, campsite levelling, and various other potential fields of interest to name at least some. It's a variety show with something for everyone!

    Updated April 28: this is correct and accurate, these things are happening now!

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Fluent

    This host offers a language exchange
    This host has indicated that they are interested in sharing their own language or learning a new language.
    You can contact them directly for more information.

  • Accommodation


    I live in a 10 meter trailer parked in a pole barn (complete with kitchen, propane oven, wood stove, bathtub, all of which we will use and share during your visit!) to keep it out of the weather. A loft will be built in the pole barn in summer for guests and we have a canvas wall tent with a bed in it for guests. The wall tent gets set up when the snow goes away! Plenty of tent sites abound (lots of flat places for vans, too) and we have 1 large 6 person tent that can be set up if needed. Again, our Raw land is off grid and short on modern amenities (although said amenities exist close by), so expect a mostly outdoors lifestyle and creating of our comforts as we need them! Rustic is part of the Experience!
    Food on the other hand is high quality, including ferments, wild food, and fresh garden vegetables. Berries drip off the bushes at various times in the year, and meat is eaten here regularly. We love food, that's why I do what I do!

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    There is a metric ton of activities to check out nearby! Located 35 minutes from the communities of Nelson and Kaslo, 4 minutes to groceries, gasoline and the longest free ferry at Balfour and 9 minutes to Ainsworth Hotsprings. It is a 1 minute drive, easily walkable, to the Kootenay Lake. Locally we have hiking trails, mountain biking, zip lining, wild hot springs, every water sport imaginable, restaurants, clubs, events and party places, wildlife viewing, and the list could go on for a while.
    Personally I work in summer as a tour guide in Cody Cave Provincial Park, taking people underground, which I highly recommend!

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    Vans are very welcome, lots of space to park up!

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets

    This host has said they are willing to accept those travelling with a pet.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?


  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 679465749243