Help me to renovate cottage from the 1800's in Uppsala, Sweden.

Country

Sweden

Favourited 63 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    8  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    20/03/2020

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    92.3 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 8 days

  • Badges

    Good Host
 
  2020 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    A couple of years ago me and my daughter, who is now 13, moved into our dream place just outside Uppsala, 100 km north of Stockholm. The house is a classical red wooden house with an old barn and a small cottage. I am doing a lot of renovation work myself, and I am grateful for help from handy volonteers. My priority is to renovate the small, cosy cottage, where I plan to establish a B&B in the near future. A dream for the future would be to keep hens as well.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Help in the house

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    I speak English and Spanish and love life outdoor. I have lived several years in Chile and like to receive visitors from Latin America. It would also be great to receive French speaking, as we would both like to pracise our French.
    I am exploring life in the countryside and want to learn more about building preservation and small scale farming. I am open to your advice and experience.

  • Help

    Help

    There are lots of smaller and bigger chores to be carried out. I need help constructing a vegetable garden from scratch. There is also renovation work to do in a cottage from the 1800's: sanding, painting, carpenting, etc.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English, Spanish

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    You will stay in my house in a double bed (if you are a couple) or in a single room, and you will share the bathroom with me and my daughter. There is also a toilet for guests only. We will cook and eat together, hopefully in the garden, when the wheather permits.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    My place is located 25 km from the centre of Uppsala, which you reach by a 15 minute-trainride. Uppsala is an old university city, something like "the Cambridge of Sweden", with beautiful areas surrounding the cathedral from 1435, the castle from 1567 and a botanical garden. Stockholm is one hour away by train. The surroundings provide rich oppotunities for outdoor life, biking, swimming and trekking. Buses and trains arrive here every 30 minutes. There is a food store one kilometer away. I can lend you bikes.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)







Host ref number: 467678295743