Help out on my beautiful home and looking after the cat in Huelo, Maui, Hawaii, USA

Country

United States

updated  

Favourited 331 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    4  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    16/09/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    95.9 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

  • Badges

    Good Host
Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: 1 month or more

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Aloha Everyone,

    First, I should like to thank all those who have written to me with a desire to help. I have gotten a lot of extra projects completed. I am also learning more about hosting and the responsibilities and chores that go along with hosting. I don't mind being a camp counselor but don't want to be a baby sitter. In other words, I expect people to be mature, responsible and capable of independence.

    Recently, I have decided to sell this place and relocate to another vacant land closer to town.
    This is something I have been thinking about for a long time. So, for the next few months, I am uncertain of the help I will be in need of. Nick and the two Irish sisters are still here helping with landscaping, maintenance and upkeep on the new land.

    My name is David and have been on this beautiful 2.5 acre home in Huelo, Maui, Hawaii for 25 years. I am no longer in the Noni Juice business. Here we maintain the fruit orchid, landscape the grass and bushes and do various odd maintenance taks. We make our own Kombucha for fun.

    I am hoping to sell this place soon. I have been working to clear another lot, closer to Haiku town and smaller than this one. Therefore, what will be happening in the fall is unclear. No doubt, I will have a new living situation for myself and more than likely a space for a helper. Now, I am hosting three people.

    Because I have had three helpers here for the past three months, an amazing amount of progress has been accomplished. With machines and by hand , we have cut, cleared, weeded, planted and prepared the new land. maintaining the two places has kept us busy..When moving time comes and then building time, it will again be very busy.

    Now that I am in my 60's, my priorities have changed to a certain degree. My passions are playing tennis and fine art painting. I still enjoy landscape maintenance and property upkeep, but prefer to have help now. I am single and like also to travel off Island as much as possible. There are two other paying tenants on the property, but there is privacy between everyone. They are independent and don't require attention.

    There are numerous established fruit trees on the property, including papaya, banana, star fruit, orange, mac nut, avacado, sapote, lychee and more.

    Maui has alot to offer. In this neighborhood, there are numerous hosts. I am an easy going guy. In addition to the juice business, I was a permaculture designer, bio dynamic farmer, compost maker and herbalist. I attended the UCSC Farm and Garden sustainable agriculture program in 1994. In college, I was an an Art and Art history major.

    Although< I love dogs, there are none here at this time.. There is a great cat here who is a good friend.

    The home is located 8 miles from Paia town, close to the Hana Hwy. It is an easy hitch to town or always possible to get rides. With the small hours requirement, you will have plenty of free time to explore and enjoy your experience on Maui.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Help with Computers / internet

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Depending on your interests, you can integrate with the spiritual New Age community here on Maui, You can connect with a variety of Hawaiian cultural opportunities, you can meet numerous like minded people of all ages. There is a great Saturday Farmers market to meet many incredible farmers and crafts people. Hawaii has diverse cultures and many events to participate.

  • Help

    Help

    Aloha. Helping to take care, upkeep and maintain my personal rural home on the North Shore of Maui. I like to travel and need a person to help, Meals are not provided. Help exchange requirement is only 15 hours per week. Help includes, cleaning, yard maintenance, tree maintenance, light computer help, water catchment protection, some light duty painting and cat care taking. During my moving process, we will be packing and moving household items and dumping alot of things as well.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    ENGLISH

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Because of the low hour requirement, no meals or food is included in the exchange. However, there will be opportunities to share meals and share shopping runs. There is a bedroom in the large, muti purpose building that is also the community kitchen, office and hangout area. It was the noni juice processing building at one time. One of the units is now occupied by helpers. If and when I move, I will update this profile to describe what accommodation will be available.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    The property is seclude and private. We all like our privacy and respect one another. We prefer to maintain a low key lifestyle. We discourage loud partying and no loud music. It is a 420 friendly place. There has been some good people here in the past, some of whom I am still friendly with.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 3 days a week

Not the everyday rainbow!
Easy Picking Papaya





Host ref number: 822441883113