1 / 5

Help on our hobby farm and enjoy good food and cultural exchange in Armidale, Australia

  • Favourited 6 times
  • Last activity: 23 Apr 2024

Availability

  2024 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Details

  • Description

    Description

    My husband & I live on a 100 acre block, 12kms from Armidale. We have 2 dogs, 2 donkeys, some chickens and some cows. Occasionally, when I have a suitable cow with calf at foot, I hand milk so that we can enjoy fresh raw milk and maybe the occasional pat of butter.
    It is a lovely peaceful spot, with 1 km of creek frontage. We have a couple of canoes to play on the creek, and if you're quiet, you may even spot a platypus.
    We are retired, though still busy with many interests. I do volunteer work with the Animal Welfare League, a grass roots democracy group.
    We usually have a veggie garden and try to make the most of our relatively short growing season. Armidale is on the Northern Tablelands of New South Wales (Australia), the region is also called the New England, which is often confused by people online as the New England in America. Our climate is cool temperate, so it doesn't get as hot as many other places in Australia, and we get quite a few frosts in winter. This gives us the chance to enjoy our lovely wood heater.


    .

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    Farmstay help
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance
  • UN sustainability goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainability goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Hopefully your experience with us will be nourishing holistically. Good food, good conversation and peaceful Australian country environment. We both enjoy reading, discussing current affairs, life and people. We love hearing about life in other countries and cultures and are happy to share ours, humble though it may be.

  • Help

    Help

    We have plenty of tasks that we'd love a hand with, both inside, in the garden, and even in the paddocks. The usual maintenance tasks like fence painting, rock collecting, manure collecting, weeding, mulching, and pruning.
    If you are a methodical organising type, we have some very junky sections of a garage that would benefit from decluttering.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    You will surely be well fed in our house. We are keen on a healthy, wholesome omnivore type diet, though vegetarians and vegans are most welcome.
    We have 2 spare bedrooms with queen size beds and also a separate self-contained flat, which usually has a tennant. So mostly, unless you are travelling with your own caravan or the like, you would be staying in one of our spare rooms and using our main bathroom, while we use our ensuite.
    We are non-smokers and would prefer that guests are too.
    Mobile phone reception is variable, however we have Starlink internet which is some consolation.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We have some fabulous National Parks locally and also between us and the coast, which is only two hours drive. The road to the coast is called "the Waterfall Way", as it has a number of waterfalls alongside its path that are quite spectacular after decent rain.
    The town of Armidale has a thriving cultural life, with regular local music, a cinema, drama productions and art exhibitions. It is also home to NERAM, the New England Regional Art Museum, which houses the Hinton Collection and always has interesting exhibits on the go.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    Starlink.

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    This host can provide space for campervans.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 917929587859

Feedback (1)


Photos

Feedback



Come and assist in the little farm and enjoy cultural exchange in Koumala, Australia
Stay and help at our vegan organic hobby farm in Tasmania, Australia