Learn some basic building and maintenance skills and help renovate a Canadian heritage home in Baie-Saint-Paul, Québec, Canada

Country

Canada

Favourited 32 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    2  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    07/08/2020

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 6 days

 
  2020 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are a Belgian-Canadian couple living in the beautiful town of Baie-Saint-Paul, Québec, Canada. Élisabeth is a social worker, Roel works in sustainable development. We really like outdoor activities like hiking, snowshoe walking, skiing and crosscountry skiing and we live in a dream region for that kind of activities. We have renovated most of our 150 year old heritage home, but there's still some work to do.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    General Maintenance

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Roel is a cabinet maker and is pretty handy. He is patient and he can really teach you how to do the job, show it, correct you, give you the time to learn it. The goal is to work together, the four of us, so we can learn from each other and help each other. If you want to acquire some basic building and maintenance skills, this would be a good place.

    Last year, we have traveled a lot and we were volunteers with workaway ourselves. We really liked the experience and the exchange and we know workaway is a two way street.

    We can show you our beautiful region, the best places to hike and kayak. And you can get a taste of some traditional Canadian and Belgian recepies.

  • Help

    Help

    The help we need is technically not difficult. You don't need to have done it before and we can show you how to do it. Ideally you are a couple and you stay for one or two weeks.

    We are working in our basement, getting ready to install a studio, but there's still a lot of work to be done.

    Outside we need to change the entrance and put a new roof on it.

    On the inside we need to install a new door and finish some concrete. We need to sand the 150 year old wooden beams and to finish installing the new wooden ceiling. We need to finish some fake beams that cover our wiring and plumbing. We can paint the ceiling, the fake beams and the drywall. We can varnish the wood part of the walls. We can finish the contours of the windows. We need to install a new bathroom. And if things are really going fast, we can even do the bluestone tiling.

    There's always some work to do in our garden as well, but our main focus stays the basement.

    We would like you to help for 25 hours a week. We can plan together how much hours on which day to get you the maximum of days off during your stay.

  • Languages spoken

    German: Fluent
    English: Fluent
    French: Fluent
    Spanish: Intermediate
    Dutch: Intermediate

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We have a cosy private bedroom with queen-size bed and private bathroom for you. So ideally you are a couple. We provide all the meals as long as you stay. Some of them are vegetarian. Depending on the season you can use our kayaks, one of our bikes,...

    We live in town, next to the Gouffre river. Shops, banks, restaurants and museums are at walking distance. The Saint Laurence stream as well. We can provide rides to go hiking.

    We like cultural exchange and we like to get to know you. But we appreciate our private time as well, and we suppose you do also.

    We have a cat and chickens.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Daytrip with workawayers.
The basement. This is where to work will happen :-)
Your room.
The basement. This is where to work will happen :-)
The basement. This is where to work will happen :-)
Your bathroom
Part of our vegetable garden
The St Laurent stream is only a short walk from our home.
The river Gouffre is our neighbour and is good for some great kayaking.
Part of our garden in summer.

Host ref number: 194236279299