Experience how Berber nomads have lived for centuries in the Sahara desert in Tagounite, Morocco

Country

Morocco

updated  

Favourited 140 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    6  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    24/09/2020

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 3 days

  • Badges

    Good Host
 
  2020 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hi there. We are lehcen and hassan. We are nomads who grew up in the desert. We lived with our family all our lives here. Unfortunatly our family moved to tagounite because of the waterproblem. But we love it here so much. We want to live here. So we are looking for people who want to help us rebuild the house. We have bedrooms and there's enough space to relax. There's a room where you can take shower. We also have animals. We need help with building the house.
    Now we need help with making bricks, walk with us and our dromedares and goats and sheep so they can eat, carry sand for the bricks, feading our chickens, rabbits, goats and sheep, walk the dogs, renovate living room and bedrooms.
    We cook traditional Berber food.
    If you want we can teach you.
    We also have a nomad oven and often we make fresh bread.
    There is enough to do here like visiting tagounite, the market, desert, walking to the mountains, go to weddings, meet my family and friends.
    We work max 3 hours a day usually after breakfast, at end of afternoon and at night you have free time.

    You can get here with ctm or supratours busses.
    From marrakech every day buss leaves at 11 and is in tagounite at 21.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    General Maintenance
    Farmstay help
    Help around the house
    Animal Care
    Language practice
    Help with Computers/ Internet
    Teaching

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    You will experience how the berber nomads lived for centuries and still do. You will meet my family and friends. You learn to cook berber food. I teach you how to build nomad house.

  • Help

    Help

    Build the house. Make bricks. Help with animals. Renovate rooms. Clean house. Cooking. Walk with my dromedares.

  • Languages spoken

    Arabic: Fluent
    Berber: Fluent
    English: Fluent
    French: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Nice house. Beautifull environment. Bedrooms. You share bedroom with other workawayers when many people. Enough space to relax. Room to take shower.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Visit desert. Visit zagora and tagounite. I go to tagounite a lot so you can join me for shopping. Nice walks. Visit mountain.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 3 hours a day, 5 days a week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (4.7)





Host ref number: 193746335166