Help with renovations and learn about lifestyle in north of Germany

Country

Germany

Favourited 38 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    8  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    22/09/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

  • Badges

    Good Host
Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    In the north of Germany, nearby the Mecklenburgische Seenplatte and not so far away from the Eastsea in a small village with a little lake for swimming, which is very nice especially in summertime, are living around fourty families.
    Here is our house. In the garden there are 8 sheeps, 9 chicken, 3 running ducks and a lot of goldfish. We arrived in 2014. Since this time we renovate the original cowshed, mostly ecological.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Animal care

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We live in the area of the former GDR, therefore you will maybe find an different lifstyle to FRG. Here are living some families with their own history of refugees after second worldwar, coming back from Poland, Romania.
    After the turn from GDR to FRG some families from germany west have settled down in this village, mostly looking for living in nature and more naturell life - and silence. Here are living local people together with people from Berlin, Hamburg, Dortmund, Dresden, Netherland and Austria, like a social patchwork.

  • Help

    Help

    Last Year we got the new experience of workaway–host – it was a very
    good summer with many helpful hands and very kindly people – read for
    more the feedbacks !

    So we like to go on to have a good summer - we like to have helping
    hands for renovation the house and work in the garden again !

    In our last year we’ve built a new entrance, now we’ll make the new
    floor (stone and wood) and entrancestairs. Kitchen and pantry will get
    new ceiling, the walls get clay, the electrical installation will be
    adapted, a new door and window will be assambled. The cellar need a
    window and the walls needs renovation by lime. Upstairs the northside
    will get a new wooden wall. Therefore we will install wooden carriers,
    wooden plates, straw insulation, wind film and window.

    Our terrain need more fences, built with hedges, graze, wood and stone,
    a new duckshed and some help to develop permaculture in the fruit and
    vegetable garden.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    german, slowly english

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We have a bauwagen and a mobile gardenhouse for staying and sleeping. Meals will be taken in our kitchen.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    This is our second looking for volunteers. The house and garden are nonsmoker areas, we have infront of the house, under a tree a smoker bench. We love our place and we like to make it much more better for a good living here, as part of the world. The manifestation, witch everybody can see, is our highest value for the experience how to love and live together. If you have the same idea of life and want support, than come as soon as possible.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week





Host ref number: 189918616443