Help start an eco-community near Tapachula, Chiapas, Mexico

Country

Mexico

Favourited 116 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    1  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    31/10/2020

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    95.8 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 3 days

 
  2020 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hey everyone, I m Florian from Belgium. Some friends of mine originaly from different parts of Mexico got a land to devellop a sustainable community around here, a wonderfull area in the lower part of the mountain (altitude +350m), 15min North of Tapachula. I am personally in Mexico since +2 years, since a year on the property, trying to help with non-profit work (managing small projects of sustainable development, design, bioconstruction, agroecology, cookink, ...).
    An amazing human experience in nature, in this old coffee farm, with bananas, papayas, cacao, lemons, rambutan,... rivers, trees, wild animals and peace 🙏🌱❤ We are conected to various organisations around that are working with kids, migrants or simply languages classes, so here we are to get some help from you in the way you feel...

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Elderly Companionship
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    General Maintenance
    Farmstay help
    Help with Eco Projects
    Help around the house
    Charity Work
    Language practice
    Art Projects
    Teaching

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Exchange with locals of the area, learn from them and their customs, share with anyone you want and what you want, be free to go to te beach (1h), or to the mountain, river, waterfall, volcano, ..., learn with us a everyday life just a the border of an old cofee farm, try to build in a different way, some natural cabans, trying to farm in a diferent way, agro-forestery and agro-ecology, try to make community differentely, go over bareers, try to live differentely, as free as possible ...

  • Help

    Help

    A bit of everything following your wishes... as detailled in the profile, we are starting from almost nothing so there is a bunch of stuff to do, especially if you are independant, i will be here to guide...
    Share with us a everyday life, help to build in a different way with bamboo, earth, wood, some natural cabans, trying to farm in a diferent way, agro-forestery and agro-ecology, build and inspire for a better lifestyle, ...

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Fluent
    French: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Private space with matress and sheets

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can possibly acccept pets

    Can possibly acccept pets

    any pets are welcome :) as far as you can manage them well to avoid a mess haha ;)

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    there is no number expected

waterfalls an natural pools around the land (15min walk)
Access to the waterfalls by the river itself...
one event altogether between severals...
chilling moment, between some work...
small waterfall and natural pool with easy and quick access
Local main river in the valley, busy like that first day of the year with locals of the area
One of the typical healthy/veg breakfast, usually with few local products
some area outside to chill and eat/drink something
main building made out of the local bamboo, with traditional techniques
one of the roofed area to keep all the materials
dry toilet and shower made with local/natural materials, solar roof for electricity, so everything for your confort and needs haha ;)
once a year, few coffee picking (just really small quantities, few coffees for few lucky ones)
Pumpkin plants, banana coming and more...
sometimes, we go to the beach, 45min away by car, restaurants available or areas just for yourself

Host ref number: 365767862167