Homestay in a Berber village in the Atlas mountains and website help in Marrakesh, Morocco

Country

Morocco

Favourited 47 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    1  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    02/01/2022

 
  2022 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Selam! My name is Abdellatif and I live in the Atlas Mountains, in the Ouirgane Valley which is around 60 km from Marrakech. It is in Morocco's hiking hub and the gateway to Mt Toubkal, our highest peak. I grew up in Ouirgane and spend most of my free time in the mountains.

    I am a certified Mountain guide and have worked in the adventure tourism field for 17 years. I have a small company organising treks and tours around Morocco. I live there with my wife and three children: Soukena 10, Morad 6 and Miriam 3. We speak Berber, Arabic, French and English. We also run a small organic garden which we use a lot. We are looking for 1 - 2 people (or a small family) to help us market our trekking company, develop and help maintain our website and bookings.

    We would prefer if you have experience or skills in photography, videography and website design.

    I will be running treks throughout your stay, however my wife and children are always home. Your help in household tasks and interacting with the children would be greatly appreciated. A love of the mountains is a must as you will more than likely be up there with me.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Language practice
    Teaching
    Gardening
    Farmstay help
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    Hospitality/Tourism
    Help with Computers/ Internet

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Volunteers will have the opportunity to live amongst local Berber people, learn some of their language and customs. You will have the chance to explore the local valleys, towns, eat delicious home-cooked Moroccan food and experience adventure tourism.

  • Help

    Help

    I need help developing and maintaining my website which I use for bookings and communication. I need help developing my basic social media advertising, such as on Facebook and Instagram, as well as listing us on travel websites.

    I would appreciate your help in translating and helping with my language skills when communicating with potential clients. I require you to help me compose written text messages and/or use of WhatsApp.

    For photos and videos this would also include editing and finishing of an album or Clipart for use on the website to assist with advertising.

    I'm happy to discuss what tasks you're most comfortable with, and we can build a programme that suits you.

    The hours of work should be around 2-4 hours a day, 5 days a week. I'm happy for you to make your days off, or working hours, suit you're plans while you're here, no need for it to be a structured work week! We can discuss how you would like to organise your time.

    Important Note:
    As it is a 3 day work week only, you will be responsible for your own food for the remainder of the week (4 days). There is a local market every Thursday and Saturday where you can buy local produce at a very affordable price. There's a transportation service or you can choose to make your own way there and back.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    Arabic: Fluent
    Berber: Fluent
    English: Fluent
    French: Fluent

    This host offers a language exchange
    This host has indicated that they are interested in sharing their own language or learning a new language.
    You can contact them directly for more information.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Volunteers will sleep in a shared room with access to the rest of the house.

    There is electricity in every room and running water in the kitchen. The rooms are equipped with mattresses, pillows, and blankets.

    Accommodation is free.

    Important Note: As you will be immersing yourself in local Berber culture, you will have the opportunity to wash in the local hamam, or in our bathroom. However, as of yet, we have no shower. We can heat up water for you, no problem!

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    To reach us:
    From Marrakech to Asni take a collective taxi = 20 dirham per person
    Change in Asni for a collective taxi to Ouirgane = 10 dirham per person
    After Ouirgane, it's possible to walk up the hill (approx 1 hour) OR I can arrange a lift = 70 dirhams

    Our village is situated on top of a hill with stunning views and gardens surrounding it. Locals are very friendly and welcoming.

    Ourika Valley and Ski station Oukaimeden, are great places to visit on your day off. The Atlas Mountains are right on your doorstep with hiking in summer and skiing in winter.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    This host has indicated that they love having digital nomads stay.

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    This host can provide space for campervans.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 2-4 hours a day, 3 days a week.



Host ref number: 461383473874