Live and learn French with good food, wine and the quiet country life in Lower Normandy, France

Country

France

updated  

Favourited 648 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    24  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    10/04/2021

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    86.7 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 15 days

  • Badges

    Top Host
 
  2021 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are a French couple of university professors specialized in English/Welsh/Irish civilization and computing. We love music and entertaining. We are now living in this beautiful domain in Normandy with lots of gardens and field. Around you can go walking, canoeing, climbing, and horse riding. . We know our wine well and good quality organic food is always available. We need help all year round. No digging no herbicide nor pesticide is our motto. We want to do our share now we have time to save what is left of our planet. 'very idealistic I know, but we can try, try and try...we'll succeed at last (Jimmy Cliff) . We are a bit isolated .We leave in a very small hamlet with nothing but kind people around. Next village 4kms. Cities around 12kms , or more. We have good bikes to lend. and can drop you places if needed sometimes.Extremely quiet place, wonderful gardens for meditation, art ,yoga, taichi . If you are a city lover with bars and disco, stay away you won't like it.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Help with Eco Projects
    Gardening
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    As university professors ,we have spent our lives with young people, so we are used to exchange on many topics, dealing with research , science and civilization. Dominique is also a specialist at teaching languages and has extremely efficient simple techniques to teach languages. She knows a lot about gardening and is a wonderful cook . French cuisine has no secret for her. Now she is studying all sorts of new approaches to food and their benefits for a healthy diet. We know our wine well and always provide good quality organic food when possible.We love playing games cards, dice and so on. We also can have music evenings or pool competitions. Well life is too short to be dull.
    We also love photography and will organize a photo exhibition in July in our medieval chapel . (pretty shabby state, also needs work to be done to it ...)

  • Help

    Help

    Help! Urgent. Gardening and outdoor maintenance. Right now we need help for weeding and lawn mowing, remaking flower beds, easy job. Lime work on the garden walls around property, repainting of garden doors and furniture . If you prefer we also want to cover the walls of the cellars with lime paste (beautiful stuff, easy to use and healthy material) .We also intend to repair and clean a stable for two horses to come. Some wood carpentry needed as well in the stable. And of course, definitely need help from March for weeding a lot and keep the gardens and alleys well kept and renew flower beds. Some lawn mowing. We have 2 acres.You decide and choose what you want to do but a mixing between gardening and maintenance especially if you know lime would be appreciated. There is a lot to do. We want people who are well organized and know about gardening and lime work although we are good at it ourselves.. People who are hard working and like what they do, autonomous once they have been explained what has to be done in general terms.
    We also continue our vegetable garden with permaculture. Watering in the evening . We expect some participation with cleaning cooking shopping and washing up. A couple preferably but you can also apply if you are very interested and single.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    French: Fluent
    Spanish: Intermediate

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Own bedroom and own bathroom. Pool table in the main lounge .Table tennis in the garden. TV in the tv room upstairs if needed many films in French and English. Loads of books. Internet connection. Guitars, cajun and a piano. Beautiful gardens to relax.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Plenty to visit around. Caen, Bayeux , Domfront, Falaise are all in easy reach . Canoeing, climbing, elastic jumping, horse riding are all locally available. theatre, singing, yoga etc ;available in the area..

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    This host has indicated that they love having digital nomads stay.

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    Any type big field.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    5 hours a day, 5 days a week. Very flexible as to the time table. We never start before 10 in the morning.

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)
















Host ref number: 188362463824