Help a family of four for 1-6 weeks in Victoria's beautiful Macedon Ranges, Australia

Country

Australia

Favourited 34 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    4  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    20/09/2019

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    247

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    87.5 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 2 days

  • Badges

    Facebook verified
Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Come and share our cosy, relaxed household in the tranquil village of Woodend in the Macedon Ranges!

    We're a happy, loving family with two young boys (aged 7 & 5) and a friendly dog and cat, looking for an individual/couple/friends/family to help us keep the household running and tackle some gardening or home deco projects while mum recovers from surgery.

    Kangaroos and cockatoos, eucalypt forests and wildflowers are all part of the experience, and our (nearly) 100-year-old house is an ideal base for exploring Victoria’s central goldfields region. We’d be more than happy to show you around and help you plan some interesting local experiences – we’ve hosted 13 international au pairs and many more international guests over the past few years and we always enjoy building new relationships and learning about other cultures.

    Our family:
    Dad (Godfrey) works as a project director in the city and although his work takes most of his time during the week he loves spending time at home when he can. Godfrey loves learning about music, and he plays classical guitar and Irish & baroque flute. Until recently I taught in the Faculty of Environments at Melbourne University; now I’m a part-time swimming instructor. I enjoy gardening, painting and sewing and the boys keep me busy, so a bit of extra help around the house is always greatly appreciated. Godfrey and I also tinkle a bit on the piano and ukulele - we have several instruments around the house and are always ready for a song or dance party! Our boys, Dash and Orlando, are happy, active and curious - they love playing superheroes, building forts and towers, playing with Lego, listening to stories, swimming and getting dirty while exploring local parks and bushland.

    At times our house is loud, busy and chaotic; at others it is remarkably peaceful. We just hold on fast and enjoy the ride!

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Babysitting / child care
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Help in the house
    Animal care

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Juddie was an ESL teacher and is happy to help you improve your English skills while you're here, through formal lessons or relaxed conversation (as you wish). She also has several years's experience teaching Japanese and German. You would be welcomed into our family, sharing the usual ups and downs of daily life, so some initiative, patience and openness to learning new things would be help you create memorable experiences with us. We are a close and loving family with an understanding of what it's like to spend time away from your home country - it's challenging and exciting in equal measure - so we offer a supportive, stable home environment.

    We enjoy getting out of the house even in the winter, and as there are many areas of natural beauty and little towns nearby, Woodend is the perfect place to use as a base while you get out and explore a little bit of south-eastern Australia!

  • Help

    Help

    We would be grateful for your help around the house for up to 20 hours each week. This might include:

    - playing with our boys
    - helping with their daily routines such as getting dressed and ready for school, preparing and serving their meals, helping them with their baths and getting ready for bed
    - driving or walking with the boys to school or other activities
    - walking our dog and/or playing fetch with his favourite ball
    - cooking some of the family's main meals
    - helping with light housework such as tidying, laundry, grocery shopping (we have a cleaner who does the main cleaning work once a week)
    - helping in the garden: weeding, mowing, planting, digging etc.
    - using a wheelbarrow to move and spread soil, gravel and mulch
    - small building projects, such as: raised garden beds, a small garden shed/greenhouse, renovating an old cubby (playhouse) for the boys
    - relatively small interior painting/decorating project
    - part of an exterior house painting project

    We are happy to offer a warm, safe and friendly family home and help you enjoy the local lifestyle; in exchange, we hope you'll engage in our living and work arrangements with a similar spirit of goodwill.

    Ideally you will have a valid drivers' licence and some experience in looking after children, but more importantly we are seeking someone friendly, proactive and trustworthy who can settle easily into a family environment.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English, German, Japanese

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Workawayers would be living in private quarters on the second floor of our house, where we have two queen rooms with ensuite bathrom and expansive living area, in addition to the shared living space within the rest of our family home and garden. We generally eat breakfast and dinner together every day (and lunch if everyone is home at the same time).
    In cold weather we often relax around the open fire in our sitting room, and on warmer days we like to soak up the sunshine in our large garden, which explodes into life in spring.

    In Woodend you are well situated to explore the beauty of the Macedon Ranges and the historic Victorian goldfield areas and spa towns such as Bendigo, Castlemaine, Malden, Hepburn Springs and Daylesford in your spare time. Maybe take a picnic to Hanging Rock and climb to the top for 360° views of the landscape, or wander the many walking trails and paths in the bushland/national parks nearby - you're pretty much guaranteed to see kangaroos and native parrots every day, and sometimes wombats, echidnas, or koalas :-)

    We can provide you with a small (manual) car and bicycles for exploring the region; bikes can also be taken on the train to Melbourne.

    If you can see yourself/ves living in a quiet county town, less than 1 hour by direct train to Melboune's city centre, come and join our family! :-D

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 4-5 days a week

Our garden is a work in progress ... I have many plans for improving it but we enjoy it all through the year.
A foggy spring morning near our house
Our dog, Bing, likes to run and play with us - he has lots of energy but he also sleeps a lot. He likes to be near the family.
Many kangaroos live near our house.
Woodend is surrounded by natural bushland/national parks and small farms
The boys looking out over Woodend from the top of Mt Macedon
Our boys like cooking .... maybe you could show them how to make a special dish from your country?
I take our dog for walks in the bush (forest) and to nearby lakes almost every day
I think this was on Orlando's 4th birthday (in 2017)



Host ref number: 186682758554