Learn new skills helping us to rescue an old farm in Ladysmith, Canada

Country

Canada

updated  

Favourited 35 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    24/10/2021

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    94.4 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 5 days

 
  2021 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Come and join us. We are an older couple with 2 Jack Russel terriers.With the mild weather on south/central Vancouver Island, we live an ideal farming lifestyle. You will have your own room and bicycle[s] to use. to further explore this magnificent area.

    We have the seashore, the wildlife and nature.. There are many hiking trails, bicycle paths, lakes, parks, walking areas in which to enjoy those idyllic days.

    We offer home cooked meals and baking. Our sustainable lifestyle gives you the opportunity to learn about gardening, preserving of food, plus the care and raising of chickens, turkeys, pigs and ponies.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Farmstay help
    General Maintenance

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We are a hard working couple.. we have extensive skills in growing and preserving food.. vegetables, fruit, etc.. Skills that are not in much evidence these days but , what with the current pandemic situation, are mare valuable in their own right. We are older so some some assistance in making barns, fencing etc would be appreciated

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help

    Help

    We are setting up a farm on 12.5 acres in the Nanaimo area.. The land has been let go and needs some care.. cleaning, making a couple of shelters, fencing.. Setting up a greenhouse, etc

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    German: Intermediate

    This host offers a language exchange
    This host has indicated that they are interested in sharing their own language or learning a new language.
    You can contact them directly for more information.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We have spare rooms that will serve as accommodation in the house.. Meals and such will be eaten with us.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We live in an ideal area for extra activities.. Many lakes .. suitable for swimming, paddle boards, etc.

    Surfing on the west coast.. about 3 - 4 hours away.

    Hiking , bicycling, etc

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    Good wifi service.. at the moment, I have 500 Gb data per month.. working at increasing that to unlimited

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    This host can provide space for campervans.

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets

    This would be a limited condition.. Small dogs would be acceptable.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week


Host ref number: 183982879653