Family looking for help in the Spanish Pyrenees

Country

Spain

Favourited 119 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    2  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    01/09/2020

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    90.9 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

 
  2020 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are a Dutch family living in the Spanish Pyrenees. We have 3 children aged 6 to 11. Almost 12 years ago we came here and started building our own house. We rely a lot on nature. A lot of our food comes from our garden and what our animals give us. The house is almost fully solar powered. We use solar power for both electricity (there´s no connection to the grid) and as the primary source of heating. We have some animals like chickens, sheep, dogs, rabbits and ducks, cats, pidgens, goose and horses. 6 years ago we've bought some land which we cultivate. We are growing all kinds of vegetables, sell them at local markets and to some restaurants with the logo 'venta de proximitat'. We also use some of our products to make marmalade and preserves. regular working houres are from 8:00 - 13:00 monday, tuesday, thursday, friday and saturday. Wednesday (except one hour of feeding animals in the morning) and sunday are the days off.

    We have 1 of 2 places for working in the garden and with animals.

    From may to September we also have 1 place for helping out with the kids. This is with an aupair-contract and includes payment according to the aupair-law for spain. For this we are looking for someone who can stay a longer period, speak catalan, spanish, dutch or english on a good level. And you will need a valid driverslicence.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Babysitting and creative play
    Farmstay help
    Help with Eco Projects
    Help around the house
    Animal Care

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    In our place you learn how to live closer to nature. On sunny day we have more electricity than rainy days. Eat local food and only what s in the season. You can help in the process of growing food. From sowing, planting to taking care of the plants to harvest, eat or process the food. You can learn how to take care of animals and if you want even the process of animal to our plate. But this part is always voluntary.

  • Help

    Help

    We can offer all kinds of farm activities like: the whole process from sowing to selling vegetables, making different kinds of food like yogurt, marmalade, pasta and sauces, taking care of animals. There is also some construction work to do. We're planning on building a greenhouse this fall. We speak several languages: Dutch, English, German, Catalan and some Spanish. Normaly we'll work 5 days a week, about 5hours a day. The morning is filled with working in the garden. (looking for snales and beatles every morning in our organig traps and other activities like planting, sowing, weeding, harvesting and wathering). In the evening just before dinner the animals need to be closed in for the night. In spring and summer we have place for 2 volunteers and in the fall 1.

  • Languages spoken

    Catalan: Fluent
    German: Fluent
    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Fluent
    Dutch: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We have a small bedroom with one dubble bed (140cm). the bathroom has a shower and is shared with our kids.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    You will live amongst our family (jan, rianne, tim(11), Noa (9) and Isaac (6) ) and we find it important that you join us in family-life. We eat together and would like if you can prepaire 1 meal a week (if possible). We eat all kinds of food. Vegetarians or special diets aren't any problem as long as you let us know. We can not have vegans (people who don't consume or use any products of any animals). After lunch and sunday you are free to do what ever you want. There's a big lake nearby, a river and many beautiful hikes to do.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    5 hours a day, 5 days a week



Host ref number: 171961974284