Help us with the garden and prepping the home on the beautiful Hebridean Isle of Canna, Scotland, UK

Country

United Kingdom

Favourited 524 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    20  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    21/09/2020

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    374

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

  • Badges

    Top Host
    Facebook verified
 
  2020 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We would welcome your skills and help with some prep for a house renovation and general maintenance

    On Canna there is a population of 17 people and my family are from this island.
    The nearest point on the mainland is Mallaig where you get the ferry from and the nearest town is Fort William.
    There is a small cafe/bar in the summer and a community shop and we have a great harbour with lots of visiting boats and yachts. Canna is a great place for wildlife, birdwatching, fishing, kayaking.

    Skills that would be helpful - knowing how to use a strimmer, chainsaw, gardening and general outdoor skills.
    Gardening - collecting seaweed for manure, clearing ground, digging, weeding, grass cutting, planting
    Maintenance: painting, cleaning, clearing ground

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    General Maintenance

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    This also gives you the opportunity to spend some time on our lovely island of Canna and be part of the community here.

    We are used to visitors and we just want people to come, enjoy our island and have a very positive experience of being here.

  • Help

    Help

    It would be great to welcome some volunteers to our island. I have several projects that I need help with.

    House renovation: I need the old building cleared out and the rubbish cleared from the area around the old building

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    I have 2 small cabins next to my house - one for a bedroom and the other had a toilet, shower and a cooking/eating area.
    We will supply all food and you will cook your own meals.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    The little island has lots of wildlife and has loads of archeology, culture and local heritage. Volunteers can also spend time fishing,kayaking or just walking and relaxing.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    5 hours a day, 5 days a week - we can arrange days off to suit everyone/workload

















Host ref number: 678429527453