Experience life in an italian family, in Tuscany, in the countryside near Livorno and Pisa, Italy

  • Italy
  • Favourited 268 times
  • Last activity: 16 Mar 2023




  • Description


    We are an italian family, we live in Toscana, in an old farmhouse near the woods, in the countryside among the hills between Livorno and Pisa.
    Many turists come all over the year to visit Tuscany.
    The sea is close, as well as towns of historical and artistic significance, like Firenze, Lucca or Pisa, that you could be interested to visit.
    I work as a teacher in a primary school, and my husband Roberto works as a surveyor in Livorno.
    After working we like to spend time having walks and meeting friends.
    Roberto attends an art school, to learn engraving techniques, and he likes to make art projects.
    I am engaged in the local administration, being part of the equal opportunities commission.
    Both our daughters, aged 20 and 17, learned languages: Linda speaks French, and Claudia German. Both also studied Spanish. Linda is currently attending her second year in Pisa University, studying political sciences. She lives in Pisa almost all the week to be closer to the university. Claudia is attending the high school. This year she attended a school trimester in Germany, and she is interested in keeping trained her German language.
    At home we have got lots of books, that need to be kept cleen. We often ask workawayers for help to dust books. Many books are stored in the attics, under roof. In spring we could need help also with the garden maintenance.
    We enjoy welcoming workawayers, not just to get a help, but also because each time we get opportunities to learn many interesting things. We like to share convivial occasions.
    We usually prefer local and healthy food, and if you are vegetarian, vegan or suffer allergies, we can provide meals that can be good for you.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Language practice
    Farmstay help
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance
    Help with Computers/ Internet
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    I'm a school teacher, I can help you if you are interested in learning italian. We can tell you about local history, and make you taste particular foods that are typical from this area. We can help you to plan visits of the main Tuscany towns.
    We often meet with friends, here at home, so you will have the opportunity to meet different people and spend time in an authentic environment.

  • Help


    We ask for spirit of cooperation in the daily management. We usually prefer short experiences (7-10 days). According with the period, you could be asked to help with the olives harvesting, or with the trees pruning.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Fluent
    French: Fluent
    Italian: Fluent
    German: Beginner

    This host offers a language exchange
    In our opinion spending time with workawayers is a very motivating way to practice languages! I can speak french, spanish and some german, but for job reasons I am particularly interested in practicing english. Roberto feels more involved when someone speaking some italian or spanish comes, because he can interact a little more: we all will be happy to listen to your stories! Anyway the girls or I can help to translate.

  • Accommodation


    You will sleep in a room that will be left just for you. During the day we could need to enter the room to get something stored there, but we will be respectful of your privacy. You'll be expected to make your bed everyday, to keep clean and not to eat upstairs. Thank you!
    A good Wifi connection is provided.
    We appreciate workawayers to share our family life.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We live in an old farmhouse, where two other families live.
    From our house to town it is possible to use the public transport, but it is very important to know that there are many few buses during the day. Having a car is the best option to move to town: we can manage to take you and pick you up according with our working hours.
    For example we can take you to the train station in Livorno, and from there you can get trains to Pisa (15 minutes), Lucca (40 minutes) and Florence (1 hour); also visiting Livorno can be a nice experience. The seafront of Livorno is amazing, you can also have a walk in the central market and in the town center.
    Sometimes, when we have free time we will be pleased to go along with you!

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    This host has indicated that they love having digital nomads stay.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?


  • ...

    Hours expected

    4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 716195166751

Feedback (11)



These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)

Help in the house or teach a language in Napoli, Italy
Join our family of four and help with the daily chores and childcare in the small city of Parma, Italy