Come and join our Simplicity, peaceful living and natural building in Paphos, Cyprus

Country

Cyprus

Favourited 267 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    15  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    13/05/2020

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    758

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    73.3 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 2 days

  • Badges

    Super Host
    Facebook verified
 
  2020 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hello travelers, my name is Socratis, 31 year old naturalist and along with my partner Neringa (from Lithuania) we are creating a little paradise just outside of Amargeti, Paphos.

    We build with natural materials, grow food by the principles of natural farming, and generally try to practise harmonious-to the rules of nature- living.

    With the help of friends and some amazing volunteers we have managed to have 3 sleeping units by now. The one made out of cob, main building, one made out of wood and one with wattle and daub and the help of compressed earth blocks. We are now in the process of building a big communal kitchen where we can gather.

    We take care of many olive and almond trees and some other trees that are in the property and several other pieces of land.
    I am happy to host people who are interested in natural building, natural farming and generally sustainability and natural living.

    Here we need mature, responsible, reliable and independent people. We are not hippies or anrchists, we dont like these concept therefore we dontlike to host people who are under these concepts.

    Make sure you only request to come here if you are a person who can appreciate this kind of life and you want to offer and learn. At the moment we are looking for strong and particularly handy people that can work with the building of our communal kitchen.


    Things you should know before you come here:

    1) You don't cut flowers
    2) You don't step on garden beds and close to tree roots
    3) Spring to Autumn we are aware of the chance of meeting snakes (some poisonous).
    4) Toilet is compost
    5) Shower is outdoors and we heat water when is not warming up from the sun
    6) you have your own bedroom, the rest we share.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Help with Eco project
    Language practice
    Art project

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Here you will learn the art of simplicity and peaceful living! If you really want to learn, you can learn a lot on natural farming, grafting, interconnections of nature- human, natural building, carpentry, cooking, diet and more.

  • Help

    Help

    Tasks to do: natural building, gardening, olive picking (when season) handy jobs, cooking. Knowledge in building, gardening and sustainability principles will be appreciated.

    I would also love to improve my knowledge in these fields and also practice more the Spanish language, learn to play a music instrument, particularly the violin, and incorporate yoga to my daily routine.

    Hours: Approximately 5hours a day

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    Greek, English,Lithuanian, Little Spanish

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Stay: You will be staying at you own room but there is more people we may share my tiny house wich has two beds.
    We are using a compost toilet.
    There is only an outdoors shower; the water heats up from the sun rays. If not, we have to heat it up on the stove. We are not using conventional soaps and harmful washing liquids. We hand-wash clothes.

    Food: food here is real, simple, vegetarian and tasty.. You can eat when you feel hungry!

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Things to do: There is a horse riding farm next to my land, in case you like horses and a beautiful stream close to where i live. There are many secret gems of natural beauty and historic interest around. you will have the oportunity to visit them if you come.

    Nearest airport: Paphos international airport, 25 minutes driving from where i live( Buses available).

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week










Host ref number: 854679478351