Help us to further develop our permaculture orchard and eco-farm in Southwest France

  • France
  • Favourited 330 times
  • Last activity: 28 Nov 2023



 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks



  • Description


    Our project is the brainchild of Paul & Yvonne, a Dutch couple (in our late 50’s) who emigrated to the South of France in late 2022, to get out of the corporate rat-race and become self-sufficient in food, water and energy.

    We have bought a 5ha 'green valley', surrounded by forests, in the South-West of France, close to Montauban (50 km north of Toulouse), to build our farm/food-forest, based on near-to 100% renewable (solar) energy and near zero-waste!

    Based on the concepts and ideas of Stefan Sobkowiak, we are building a permaculture orchard with a large variety of nut and fruit trees and various species of berries and herbs. All our 1-year edible food (salads/tomatoes etc.) is available from our ‘no-dig’ vegetable garden. A part of the valley is be for a small animal-friendly farm with a rare breed of pigs, Dexter cows, some hens, ducks and our 2 dogs.

    With almost 20 volunteers in the 1st half of 2022, we have managed to build almost all infrastructure for the animals, the orchard and plant the 1st 100 trees and shrubs.In the 2nd half of 2023 we would like to focus on renovating some parts of the house; we want to paint the exterior and interior (walls and woodwork). Volunteers with experience in this field are highly welcomed! Also more irrigation-infrastructure needs to be made, as well as a large fencing project.

    Working on a farm is hard physical work; we expect our volunteers to be truly interested in farming and permaculture, willing to learn and willing to put in the effort and energy to contribute.

    It may rain or it may be 30+ degrees, the farm does not stop! We love volunteers that can work independently, take responsibility and deliver an outcome that is of high quality. Our volunteers should come well prepared (in practical terms with clothing/boots etc.) and committed to improve the planet and climate!

    Proven experience and/or ratings and/or references are a must!

    We hope you will join us on this mission! Paul & Yvonne

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    DIY and building projects
    Farmstay help
  • UN sustainability goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainability goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Being experienced in life and international environments we can help with languages, help understanding cultural differences (work and life) and encourage some soul-searching. We are parents to two mid 20-ers so we have seen most of it, first or second hand.

  • Help


    For Autumn 2023 it is mostly:
    1) painting walls (interior/exterior; we have 6m scaffolding)
    2) planting / seeding vegetables in greenhouse / polytunnel and veg.beds. for wintercrops.
    3) and after this a lot of planting (trees, shrubs, vegetables) and weeding the orchard and vegetable garden.
    4) caring for our pigs (and later our Dexter cows - from Nov.)
    5) building winter-infra for cows
    6) build tree drip-irrigation system
    7) outer fencing of the whole valley needs to be restored / made dog proof

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    German: Fluent
    English: Fluent
    Dutch: Fluent
    French: Intermediate

    This host offers a language exchange
    We are fluent in 3 languages (and Yvon is even a teacher for expats in Dutch-English) and we would love to learn better French.

  • Accommodation


    For our guests we have 2 modern rooms (approx. 24 m2 each) with kingsize beds in each room; a shared bathroom w shower/bath for the 2 guest rooms. All meals (breakfast/lunch/dinner) are shared 'family' meals with a typical French lunch with daily fresh croissants and eggs from our own chickens .... (all free of course).

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Our eco-farm/orchard is in a secluded, private valley, although only 5 minutes by bicycle to the town of Monclar-de-Quercy (with some basic shops and a small U-tile convenience store). At less than ½ hour are the beautiful medieval cities of Montauban and Albi. Nearby are many towns with lovely farmers markets, with the one in Saint-Antonin-Noble-Val being the most famous one. The Mediterranean is a 2 hr drive, as is the Atlantic and it is also only 2hrs to the Pyrenees. We can provide 2 e-bicycles.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    We have a separate room on the ground floor which can be used 'as an office' some hours of the day, the guest rooms are private with adequate seating. The Wifi is high-speed fiber.

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    Free parking on site (facilities with water and 220V in-house).

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets

    ... depends on the dog ... (no cats as Paul is highly allergic for them).

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    max 5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 161962918355

Feedback (12)



These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (4.9)

Communication: (5.0)

Help with DIY and our vegetable garden in a small village in the Dordogne, France
Join our family and help with childminding in Saint-Fulgent-des-Ormes, France