Help with horse riding, animal care and farm work in Tiveden, Sweden

Country

Sweden

Favourited 468 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    2  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    13/10/2020

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    500

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 35 days

  • Badges

    Facebook verified
 
  2020 

 Min stay requested: 1 month or more

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We own and manage a farm in the beautiful location of Tiveden, Sweden.
    We have many animals and land to take care of so there is always something to do.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Babysitting and creative play
    General Maintenance
    Farmstay help
    Animal Care

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Here is an opportunity to learn more about horses and get more time in the saddle and also learn a little Swedish and improve your English (since one of us is originally English). Learn about Swedish culture and of course get to know our way of life.

  • Help

    Help

    We are looking for volunteers that have horse riding experience.
    My name is Camilla, and you will also meet my husband Rob (Englishman) and my daughter Olivia (7 yo in 2020). My father also lives at the farm.

    We have three Fjord horses, three Arabian horses, one Welsh Partbred pony and two "North Swedes" who needs to be worked/trained and kept fit for the summer in different ways depending on their age and education level. In the summer you will ride horses, either with me, alone or go with us on tour rides.
    We work with the horses in a Natural Horsemanship style. It would be nice if you have any affinity or interest in this way of handling horses.

    We also have 30 sheep (plus their lambs) and 10 chickens which need to be fed and taken care of.

    In the spring and summer we also need volunteers to help out with things like mowing the lawn, fencing, clearing pastures, and everything that could come up on a farm.

    We eat mostly our own meat or that of our neighbours and we like to buy organic food, but we are not strict about it.
    If you are vegetarian you are welcome too, we can work our way out with cooking.
    Vegans will have to cook for themselves if they want to come to us. We can discuss how we will work that out.
    You will eat lunch with us and breakfast and dinner by yourself in your own space.

    To the village where there is a small store it is 5 km, and to the nearest small town it's 30 km.

    If you are interested in working with us, having a lot of fun and also learning a lot about horses, please contact us!

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    Swedish: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We are currently renovating/building a new volunteer room.
    It is located across the yard from our house and includes a bed, cooking place and there will be a toilet with shower next door.

    Internet: Unlimited wifi.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    On your time off you can take the bike or go by foot and discover for example the Tiveden National Park. There's a bus nearby to Laxå and from there you could take the train to Örebro.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    You will have access to wifi in your room.

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    This host can provide space for campervans.

  • Can possibly acccept pets

    Can possibly acccept pets

    As long as they are friendly towards our pets and with people since we have guests regularly on the farm.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 5 hours a day, 5 days a week

One of the horses
Volunteer out riding
One of our volunteers talking to one of the horses :)
Sheep
Horses
Camilla with one of the horses
One of our horses
One of the horses
Chickens
Sheep
Nature
Riding on the farm
Riding


Host ref number: 485524382761