Volunteer with a suburban family in Newcastle, NSW

Country

Australia

Favourited 233 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    29  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    08/07/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    87.5 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 13 days

  • Badges

    Top Host
Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hi, I'm Andrew, thanks for looking at our profile,

    I'm a single dad and we are a family of 3 living in the suburbs of Newcastle about 10 mins from the local beaches. I have 2 kids (8yo & 10yo), enjoy cafes and going to the beach and playing in the pool. (The photos are some of our local beaches). We also like cycling and playing games, chilling out and chatting with friends.

    Best of all we have a neighbor over the back fence (Actually its Ruth, Anna and Liams mum, who we still get on well with although we are separate and Ruth lets us use her small above ground pool (about 5m x 3m), so as the summer heats up we can spend the afternoons relaxing in the pool!

    We attend a local church each week and our two kids attend the local school which is just up the road.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Help in the house

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    One of the great hings is getting to know the kids and teaching and learning from them about how a household runs in Australia. the strange beatles, spiders, snakes, etc that live here (not at our house though ! ).

    I love language. (although I'm not that great at any other than English yet), but I'm more than happy the help you our whit your English picking us grammatical error to make your English sound more natural.

  • Help

    Help

    I spend lots of my time fixing (renovating) houses and love to have people to work with.

    You don’t have to be there for the full time or work every day but in the past helpers have usually worked about 20 hours per week each (could be 3 days full time or a few hours each day), fixing the place up and then spend the other time at your leisure.

    It helps if you have been involved in building or renovating (or are keen to learn) but we also are looking for people who get on with (our) kids and are happy to get involved in the regular bits of life.

    By the way, if you have a trade background then please and let us know, having carpenters, plumbers electricians stay is such a blessing and we are super keen to have you involved so if you got the skills let us know and we will make sure your stay is worthwhile.

    There are always a huge range of jobs to do like:
    • Painting
    • Installing joinery
    • Gardening
    • Attaching fixtures and fittings
    • Carpentry
    • Hanging new doors
    • Putting up new plasterboard onto the walls

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We live in a renovated 2 bedroom house in the suburb of Waratah. Generally I give up the master bedroom while your here and stay in with the kids (they sleep in the "sky-beds" - see the photo), meaning you get the double bed.

    The house is joined (via a common rear deck) to our neighbour, "Tes", who is studying her PHD in psychology and is often around for dinners.

    we have ADSL2 internet which is pretty good and achieves 5-10 Mb/s (good enough for skype calls).

    the house has 1 bathroom which is quite large. there is a great rear deck looking over the grassy garden and treehouse (for kids and adults too).

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Generally we are looking for people who are going to fit in with our family. People who are: Independent, friendly, hardworking, willing to work in the team to get things done and solve problems.

    One of the biggest things is people who have some life experience and know how to help out without direct instruction.

    What else...

    We try to offer the best in accommodation and hospitality so you have your own room (No sleeping in refurbished shipping containers or dank rooms here.

    We have built up a helper’s book over time with lots of suggestions of things you can do around Newcastle and we also have a range of brochures. We have some spare clothes if you don’t have painting clothes, but we don’t have all sizes (just a random selection) so best if you have some working clothes).

    So if you’d like to be involved in our life and projects, send us a message and we can hopefully get to know each other better in the coming weeks and months.

    So come and stay, it’s a great life and a great place to stay

    Looking forward to meeting you soon.

    Andrew, Annalise and Liam

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    4 hours a day, 5 days a week

At the local Football stadium
Dinner at home with Brieuc + Celine (recent work-awayers from Belgium)
The locals at our favorite cafe
Fun, balancing in the lounge
Exploring the rocks
Bringing home our new mini chaise lounge
a days work painting
On the beach at merewether
It's beach weather
Building work
we love to cycle
Nobby's Beach our local spot to swim


















Host ref number: 13331975814e