Help on our newly bought home in Golden Bay, Australia

Country

Australia

updated  

Favourited 270 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    8  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    28/05/2020

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    1238

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    69.8 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 24 days

  • Badges

    Super Host
    Facebook verified
 
  2020 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Us... My husband (Isaac, 34) and I (Kelsey, 31) are an Aussie-American couple living near Perth, Western Australia (Golden Bay). We enjoyed the Workaway program in 2016 for our honeymoon, backpacking around the world. We were Workaways ourselves 5 times, and we loved it! We couldn't wait to own a home of our own to host future Workaways!!

    The Workaway program made such a huge impact in our thinking, and we really want to help support the program. So if you are looking for a true work and culture exchange, then we are looking for you.

    We get so many requests that if we don't get back to you straight away, we apologize and we will try to get in touch soon.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Other
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Art project
    Help with Computers / internet

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Isaac and I do our best to split our time between my home in America and his home in Australia. If you want to meet a young couple who strive to live differently, and have made long-term travel a goal at the center of their marriage, I think you will enjoy your stay with us. if you are wanting to know anything about running a small business, esp a creative agency, we can offer you some insight. Also, if you are curious about how wood fired coffee roasters work, we can definitely get you some exposure to the process and taste testing! We LOVE coffee, and all the stages of creating the perfect cup. We will also cook you up some of our favourite dishes we learned from our travels, and sample some local Aussie delicacies. We love beer and wine and would love to take you to some of our favourite spots!

  • Help

    Help

    We are looking for Workaways from January 2020 onward. We recently bought a beautiful established home (needs a little work) in Golden Bay across the street from family. We also started a small Advertising Agency. Isaac is a graphic designer & experience architect, and I do all the photography and marketing. Needless to say, we have plenty to do, and really just need a few extra set of hands around the house. Projects vary from helping put in some landscaping, painting, and renovations. We also may have some creative projects for those of you who are graphically or creative inclined.

    Isaac's brother is also a local coffee roaster, so if we have more Workaways than work, we may be able to offer you some experiences at his coffee raostery or cafe. We also are looking at renting rooms to guests in the future and starting our own beehive - you never know what you will get up to with us! :)

    If you have special skills, please let us know, and we will try to find suitable projects for you. Otherwise, the work is simple but we try to have fun. Most of the time, Isaac and I will both be working with you, listening to music while we work, and sharing delicious meals. We hope that while you are with us, that you are happy to share your own cultural dishes, music, and ideas with us. We are both very friendly, open-minded, and fun-loving people.

    Isaac and I do eat predominantly Vegetarian and Vegan meals with fish sometimes once a week. We hope this won't be a trouble for our guests to join us in our healthy & sustainable lifestyle.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English, Australian

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    If we have the work, we are asking for a 25 hour help week (semi-flexible schedule) per person. We offer a cozy independent room in our home. All meals (in our home) will be provided. We have fibre optic (high speed) internet. We also allow workaways use of our bikes.

    If we don't have the work available, we may still be interested in hosting for 10 hours help per person each week (flexible schedule - light housework). In exchange, we would offer a cozy independent room in our home. For this option, no meals would be provided. We have fibre optic (high speed) internet. We also allow workaways use of our bikes. Honestly, we just love hosting people, but we are young people just getting set up in our lives, but know what its like to travel on a budget. So if a little work in exchange for accommodation is helpful for you, let us know. :)

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Golden Bay is known for its surfing, and surf culture. We are really close to Mandurah, which has a very beautiful foreshore that is alive with fabulous beer gardens & Microbreweries, cafes, restaurants, and shopping. Our little corner of the world has a little bit for everyone. Location-wise, we are less than a 15 minute walk to the beach. Public transport is near, so if you would like to take the train into the city of Perth the station is 10 min by car, and then a 40 minute train ride to get to the city of Perth. There are also many bus stations near us, that week take you just about anywhere you want to go. :)

    A little more of a weekend trip away, there is 2 of Western Australia's famous wine regions (Swan Valley & Margaret River). We also have a local winery less than 10 mins away that often hosts fun events. There are lots of camping spots near us too, and you are more than welcome to borrow our camping gear.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Our French Workaway friend, Yves, working on our beautiful office cabinet :)
Our Belgium Workaway friends, JC and Yael. They stayed with us for 3 months and renovated this van into an incredible mobile home to travel around Australia.
Camping!! In Margret River near delicious wineries, cafes and beautiful beaches :P
Our American workawayer friend (Jordan) tackling the giant Bougainvillea bush we inherited when we bought the property!!!! Jordan you are a lifesaver!!
LEFT: Jordan and Isaac working on capping the wall leftover from when we tore down our walls. RIGHT: Jordan's wife (also named Kelsie) providing him a chilly refreshment break. :)
Adrien at work after our professional builder did the cuts, secured the load on the walls, and educated us on their demolition! We do our best to make sure any renovations we do, we have the appropriate gear & professional guidance. The safe way is always the best way.
Taking down walls is a dirty job! Luckily those walls were no match for Adrien & Leila! They're amazing!!! Thank you again guys!!!! :)
Our cozy bedroom for our workaway couples/singles. We hope to add a second guestroom soon. :)
Our new home!!! We get keys on the 31st of March! One of our projects will be putting in a tree out back (an anniversary tree for us - we got married about this time last year). Another would be to put a few plants in & raking the pine tree droppings. :)
Sushi night! We learned how to make sushi while we were in Japan, and luckily we know where to get the best fish in town for our sushi! We love to try new combinations with friends (new or old)!
Pizza night from the recipe we learned in Florence! We made 8 home made pizzas, and they were delicious!
This is Christmas Morning at our local beach just 15 mins walk from our home. :)
Isaac and I out with our workaway friends this last summer (2016) in Florence @ Brew Dog. The had delicious microbrewed beers!
Isaac and I on our wedding day last April 21st!!! Feels so long ago, yet we will only celebrate our 1 year anniversary this April, 2017.

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)







Host ref number: 118521477425