Gardening in Waikawa, Picton and explore the Marlborough Sounds, New Zealand

Country

New Zealand

updated  

Favourited 147 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    20  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    16/07/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    96.6 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 2 days

  • Badges

    Super Host
Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are a couple with cat and dog who moved to Waikawa, Marlborough Sounds in 2015. We have a 36 foot launch and a very small racing yacht and love to get away to explore the Marlborough Sounds.

    The Marlborough Sounds in summer is warm and in winter is lovely, no wind and generally perfect days. Come and explore the Marlborough Sounds with free accommodation (your own room) and food. We are a few minutes walk from Waikawa Bay. We can sometimes arrange sailing, racing and boating if you are interested.

    Thank you for looking at this listing. Please email me if you are interested. We are now no longer to host workaways until very late August.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    While my husband is out on the water many days a week, I love to garden and cook. I'm keen on food self sufficiency and regenerating NZ bush. In Picton and Waikawa we have an interesting pest eradication project that I am part of.

  • Help

    Help

    We are planting natives in an area in Waikawa and need help doing this. The tasks involved are weeding, cutting back and planting natives. Our preferred length of stay is a week with 4-5 hours work per day, 5 days per week. House work may be an option if its raining.

    Those tasks are physical work and requires an ability to use gardening tools and your muscles. Over clothes will be provided.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    A double bed or twin room with your own bathroom (shower/bath with separate toilet). 3 meals a day provided eating with the family. We'd love you to cook a meal from your homeland one night.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We have enjoyed having workaways, backpackers and cultural exchange students visit us. Its great meeting people from around the world and sharing ideas, recipes and general knowledge. We enjoy showing people the Marlborough Sounds from our launch and can sometimes arrange sailing and yacht racing on certain days.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 5 hours a day, 5 days per week

2018 Rusty waiting for a ball to be thrown
October 2018 natives growing well
October 2017: Mass plantings
October 2017, plants getting bigger
2016: Native plants starting to grow
2015: At the beginning regenerating native plants in introduced gorse.
Our 36 foot launch for exploring the Marlborough sounds
2016 Rusty waiting for a ball to be thrown











Host ref number: 951423565289