Help with cattle, horses and much more just East of Prince George, Canada

Country

Canada

Favourited 460 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    16  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    14/09/2022

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    64.7 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 4 days

  • Badges

    Super Host
 
  2022 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    "Currently looking for help, from April on"

    *we do believe in freedom of choice and bodily autonomy and are big supporters of the freedom movement*


    *we do not offer payment, work exchange for room and board only*


    We are a young couple with three little kids building up our cattle ranch on 550 acres about 30 min. east of Prince George. We bought our own place a few years ago which was very run down. Now, step by step we are fixing and improving things. Of course work on the ranch is endless, fences need to be fixed, cattle sorted, horses ridden, hay cut and the garden weeded, just to name a few. We have Cattle, horses, sheep, pigs, chickens, geese, cats and dogs and no shortage of wildlife ;-). My husband is a piece officer and works full time, I am a stay at home mom, taking care of the kids and the everyday chores on the ranch.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Language practice
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Farmstay help
    Babysitting and creative play
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    You would be a part of the family and be involved in day to day activities with livestock and around the ranch. Get involved in animal husbandry, learn how to milk and make cheese, grow plants and vegetables and see what it takes to be self sufficient. Meet members of the community and learn the language. Throughout the summer we attend different horse events, like Gymkhana's and go to the local farmer's market. We also do quite a bit of wild foraging, starting with fiddle heads in the spring, picking berries throughout the summer or mushrooms in the fall.

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help

    Help

    Looking for an extra set of hands. Horse experience would be welcome but is not a must. Outbuildings have to be painted, the garden weeded and harvested, fences and animals have to be checked on a regular basis, along with little things like chickens fed and eggs collected and washed..... Hubby has a lot to do on his days "off" and can always use an extra set of hand with whatever project he is doing right now.... You will mostly work along side of us, but we'd like someone who can also work independently. I do expect some common help in the house, but nothing out of the ordinary.
    You will not be helping with any produce that is sold and your help is purely for our own home and with produce for our own consumption.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    German: Fluent
    English: Fluent

    This host offers a language exchange
    The Children are fluent in English and German and so am I. Hubby used to be fluent in french, understands quite a bit of German and Spanish.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    You would be a part of the family. You'd stay in our guest room with a hide-a-bed (about double size). Or you could put up a tent if you's wish to ;-) (tent and sleeping bags available)

    We cook a good dinner every day, all the other meals are not as fancy and you might just have to help yourself when you get hungry, there's always somethings to eat in the house 😉

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We do have three little kids it would be good if you actually like children, they are good kids and a part of our everyday farm life, but they are little and can be a little bit annoying sometimes ;-)
    We are in the country with no public transportation. General store where one can get pretty much everything is about a 20 min walk. We are regularly back and forth to town and you won't be left stuck on the farm. lots of hiking on the farm available, river borders the property, you can also take the bicycle and enjoy the scenery that way. We have a big lake close by. Our life is a bit crazy, so there a no real schedules, whenever you want to take the day off is probably fine by us.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    This host can provide space for campervans.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)












Host ref number: 247644136394