Experience Spanish family life in rural Galicia and Bizkaia and help our girls learn English. Spain

updated

  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last Activity

    27/05/2017

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0%

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 16 days

2017

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D




  • Description

    Description

    (Excuse my english, I am studying it)
    We are a couple with two girls aged 5 and 9 who live in Bizkaia (Spain) in a beautiful farmhouse. My name is Vero and I am 41 and my husband 42. We live in Basque Country, in a beautiful place in the mountain,where we have two dogs and some chickens. We also have a large garden and a swimmingpool of 10 metres.

    We would welcome an English talkative girl to be able to practice English and to teach it to our daughters also through games, stories, songs, etc. To do this we need this person speaks and understands Spanish (although not perfectly) and my daughters only get English as a subject and their level is very low. We need in Bizkaia and/or Galicia. You can come with us on holidays.

    On summer we will go on holidays to Galicia (the main photo of my perfil), to a village which it is about 5 minutes by car from Allariz (Ourense), where we have a nice house. We will be there from the end of june (approx) until end of august. In Allariz there are countless things to do and see: the Arnoia river is navigable by canoe, boats are rented, the sun takes its banks; its cobbled streets are maintained since Roman times; there are many outlet shops in the streets; every year is celebrated the International Garden Festival and the International Folklore Festival is attended by high-level groups.

    There we go to swimming pools, give rides at night in the light of the stars, we will go to pick berries, do jam,and "empanada" Galician, visit Ribadavia in its Medieval Festival, we will go to the "Festa do Esquecemento" someday . An about an hour by bus there are beaches (you can go to the Cies Islands too), there are countless festivals throughout the summer in the surrounding area. In Allariz there is also a camping hípica.

    In exchange for such varied cultural life, we offer accommodation and meals. In the house no internet, but we go down every day to the center where there are many bars and the Municipal Library whith internet access and computers. We ask a responsible, hardworking, honest girl, who likes to play with children, and smiling to take care of my daughters, help clean the house, etc. should not be smoking, or drug user.

    If you do not fulfill their obligations we should ask to leave.


    Somos una pareja con dos niñas de 5 y 9 años que vivimos en Bizkaia (España) en un precioso caserio. Yo me llamo Vero y tengo 40 años y mi marido 41. En el caserío tenemos dos perros y muchas gallinas. También tenemos una gran huerta.
    Quisiéramos acoger a una chica nativa de habla inglesa para yo poder practicar inglés y que les enseñara a nuestras hijas también mediante juegos, cuentos, canciones, etc. Para ello necesitamos que esta persona hable y entienda castellano ( aunque no sea perfectamente) ya que mis hijas solo dan ingles como asignatura y su nivel es muy bajo.
    Pretendemos marchar de vacaciones a Galicia en verano si el trabajo nos lo permite , a una aldea en Allariz, está a 5 minutos en coche, donde tenemos una bonita casa.

    En Allariz son innumerables las cosas que se pueden hacer y visitar: el río Arnoia es navegable en piragüa, se alquilan barcas, se toma el sol a sus orillas; sus calles empedradas se mantienen desde la época romana; hay muchísimas tiendas outlet en sus calles; todos los años se celebra el Festival Internacional de Jardines así como el Festival de Folklore Internacional al que acuden grupos de alto nivel. Allí iremos a las piscinas, daremos paseos por la noche a la luz de las estrellas, iremos a recoger moras, haremos mermelada, haremos empanada gallega, visitaremos Ribadavia en su Fiesta Medieval, iremos a la "Festa do Esquecemento", algún día a Vigo a la playa (puedes pasar a las Islas Cíes), hay innumerables fiestas todo el verano en sus alrededores.
    En Allariz también hay una hípica- camping.
    A cambio de tan variada vida cultural, ofrecemos alojamiento, y comidas. En la casa no hay internet, pero bajamos todos los días al centro de Allariz donde en muchos bares y en la Biblioteca Municipal hay acceso y ordenadores.

    Solicitamos una chica responsable, trabajadora, honesta, que le guste jugar con niños, y sonriente para cuidar de mis hijas, ayudar en la limpieza de la casa, jardín, ropa, etc. No debe ser fumadora, ni consumidora de drogas.
    Si no cumpliera con sus obligaciones deberiamos pedirle que se marchara.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Babysitting / child care
    Cooking / shopping
    Help in the house
    Language practice
    Teaching

  • Help

    Help

    Our main interest is to accommodate a talkative English to practice my medium English through everyday conversations. Also help with the housework and teaching basic english with my little daughters by songs, sentences, plays,...
    We do not accept smokers, no alcohol or drugs of any kind. It is important that you like children. We need a person with a basic-medium level of spanish, to children improve their english as well .

    Nuestro máximo interés es alojar a personas de habla inglesesa para practicar inglés. Ayudarme con mi aprendizaje y perfeccionamiento del inglés mediante las conversaciones cotidianas, y enseñar a mis hijas ingles. También ayudar en las tareas de casa.

    No debes ser fumadora, no acepto alcohol, ni drogas de ningún tipo. Es importante que te gusten los niños.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    Spanish. English (level B1), Basque

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    In our house with us. You have your own room.
    The last two photos are of our house in Bizkaia. The rest are of Galicia.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Along the year de live in Igorre (Bizkaia), in the north of Spain.

    In summer, if it is posible, we will go on holidays to Galicia, to a small village, Allariz. Oír house un Galicia is an about five minutes by car from the center of Allariz. A lot of people go down walk but it is a bus three times a day. We go to Allariz every days so there is no problem.
    In our house there isn't Wifi because it is a holiday house.

    This is the first time we ask for a volunteer and we hope to have a kind relation and a good experience.
    If it is like that, we will repeat the experience. Soon I wil publish a new profile with photos.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Basque Country is lovely: we have an own language, culture, gastronomy, beaches, mountains......
    Galicia is wonderful: parties, cities, villages, people, culture, gastronomy, beaches, music...what else?

  • ...

    Volunteering hours expected

    Maximum 5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Photos

Click images to enlarge

Lovely nightfalls...from your bedroom.
Making bread in a fest of Allariz.
A "hórreo" in a park of Allariz next to the river.
At the internacional Garden Festival in Allariz. Every years it is celebrated and the exposition is all the summer.
Arnoia rivera un Allariz.
Host ref number: 937818741214

Please log in and visit this profile to leave your feedback.

Some of our top hosts