Join us in the small charming old town of Les Junies!!, France:

updated
Country

France

Favourited 146 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    16  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    15/02/2019

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    553

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    92.9 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 10 days

  • Badges

    Super Host
    Facebook verified
Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: No minimum

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    LAST MINUTE UPDATE: needing urgent help this end february-beginning march!!! :)

    Mainly help with the house work, and making some Montessori material for Natan :)
    Also some help organising boxes of things for a next move (Natan and I will move from here to another appartment/house)
    :)

    Hello!

    Hello! I'm Emma, a Galician/Mexican girl (34) I live with my sun Natan (7 years old), my friend Charlotte (32) and her son Yaku (5). We are sharing an apartment on the charming small village of The Junies (Lot). The apartment is bright and has a pretty shared garden behind. All around, trees, forest, nature and some pretty ancient stone houses!!

    We love to meet new people. talk, laugh! sing!! I love cook when I have free time... (some Mexican-Galician food, and mostly, "Emma's inventions"! ). We eat vegetarian and organic as often as we can, if you want or need another type of meal we can talk about it.

    I’m beginning working for my self on my own little business (selling original eco-friendly and solidary touristic souvenirs) and I need a lot of time to work on this beginning...At the moment I have paused this activity but I hope to restart it soon. I also works some times teaching Spanish to adults.

    Charlotte produce organic medicinal plants, and she create hydrolates. creams and soaps. She can sometimes need help on the garden or producing.

    We all speak Spanish, as Charlotte has lived in south america and Yaku is half Argentinian. So at home we speak a good French-Spanish mix :)

    Natan is at home in "unschooling", so learning from life! I’d love very much him to learn English; he speaks French and Spanish yet because I have always talked to him in Spanish and his father and other people in French. (I also talk sometimes a little bit of Galician! :) )

    Yaku begins also his unschooling expérience since the end of 2018!

    We have a good internet access but we prefer to use the Ethernet connection to minimise the WiFi waves exposition, if we are not at home, or in some punctual cases, you can of course use the WiFi connection ;)

    We will appreciate also to reduce the use of mobile phones near Natan and Yaku :)

    There are several hiking trails beginning from the village. We will be pleased to show you them. (We love hiking and, personally, I plan to walk on the Route of Compostela one day with Natan...!)

    We try to live in an eco-friendly and also in an economical way, as we are both single mothers with less income , so we are attentive to reduce the gas, water and power consumption. So we will appreciate very much if you help us with that by respecting some rules, like taking shorts showers and not every day; turning off lights when you're not using it; reducing the use of mobiles, laptops and other electronic devices to use less battery (and therefore charge it less :) ) etc.

    We, and the earth, will be grateful with you if you use eco-friendly and biodegradable products, as shampooing, soaps, sanitary napkins, etc.

    I think you will love to be here, the department of the Lot, where Les Junies is located, has a rich natural and cultural heritage, and there are a lot of things to do and to discover! you can take a look at the Lot website, it will be a pleasure for us to advice you about some places, transports, and if we have some free time, (and money) maybe go with you to visit or bring you to some places :)

    Come here!! We will be happy to know you!! ;)

    Thanks!!! à bientôt!! hasta pronto!! vémonos!

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Babysitting / child care
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Other
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Language practice
    Art project
    Help with Computers / internet
    Teaching

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We'd love to talk in Spanish or french with you if it could help you; we can show you the village and depending on the time and the possibilities, other places....
    Now I have a car! so if you cooperate with gas, we can go together to visit some pretty places! go swimming to the river or the pool in summer...
    We will be happy, of course, to propose you to come with us (for free) when we go with the car to places that you could love.

    We can talk about France, Mexico, Spain and Argentina and I can obviously cook Mexican, Galician and Spanish...! yummy!! :)

    Please tell us what are your needs? maybe We can help you with other things?. It will be a pleasure!

    Depending on the date, and your economies, you can come with us on travel (I'll go sometimes to Galicia), maybe to the Pyrenees on camping, to the Mediterranean....

  • Help

    Help

    - Help with housework:
    I would like to take more "quality time" with Natan, that's the reason because I'm looking for help with the housework as I will be able to use those moments to be with him without stress :).
    So need help with cleaning and tidy the house, clothes, cooking, some interesting projects to do as re-organise the space: toys, books, furniture, etc. to make this space nicer! all the ideas are welcome! :)

    - Help with manufacture:
    I'm hand-making some Montessori material for Natan, maths and language mainly. So cut, plasticise, print, to assemble plastic pearls with copper wire to do the maths material, etc...

    - Childcare:
    Sometimes, while we're working: play at home with them, to make creative activities, read books , etc. if it's in English or Spanish, better! :).. but If not, it's good also...they can teach you french! :)

    - Teaching music:
    If you have music talents we will love to learn with you! I have a guitar but I'm just a beginner; I would like to learn piano as well..
    Also, I take some courses of singing since last year! :) So music is on my veins!

    - Natan has an electric guitar, and he has begun guitar courses a few months ago.. He would love to learn how to play to become a blues-rocker!! :) (he love rock, but also cumbias... so everything's possible!! :) 
    And Yaku loves that also!! :)

    - Help with Charlotte garden: some times, but mostly on the spring.

    - With my brand new little business (when I'll restart it): 
    + Website development : I'm creating a website (in fact, 2 websites, but one before the other...) and I need some help with ideas, writing texts, translations (German, English, maybe Italian); also writing on the social networks (mostly Facebook, and a blog on the website)

    + Help to create new products: I'm beginning with one series of original post cards of the Way of Compostela, I have at the moment only 2 models on that series, I need other models and for that, I need to find high quality photos of bridges on the Way and to incorporate an artistic original graphic design on the photo. If you're an graphic artist, welcome!!! :)

    + Create other series of postcards, and other products like t-shirts (organic and fair-trade!), etc.

    + Other help of marketing, communication, sales...

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    Spanish, French, english and Galician

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Bed, lunch and dinner.
    We will ask to you to bring you own breakfast, but we will provide you with coffee or tea if you want.

    As the apartment has only 2 bedrooms (one for each family) we can only propose you to sleep on the big sofa in the living room (it's really comfortable and large for one person, but if you don't sleep well there, we have a second one, bigger, so you will be able to choose :) )

    Please make sure that these conditions are ok for you, as well as rules about our eco-friendly and economic way of living, because is really important for us. Thank you! :)

    Bathroom, WC, kitchen and living room is shared with us.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    The Lot is a department with a lot of activities, music, sport, hiking, cultural activities, etc. The summer we have some interesting festivals (Blues festival in Cahors, Lot of Saveurs-local gastronomy, Les Rencontres de Cinéma de Gindou and many many others...).
    Concerts every time everywhere-

    We are at 25 minutes from Cahors, and from there It is easy to go to Toulouse by train (1h30)

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    4 or 5 hours per day, 5 days per week (the days you don't work, we will share normal tasks as room-mates) we can talk about this, according to our common needs and wishes :)

Les Junies Saint-Pierre-es-Liens church. 16th century.
The charming village of Saint Cirq Lapopie! at 30 minutes from Cahors...
Le Pont Valentré and the Cahors vineyards
Le Pont Valentré!











Host ref number: 917192419951