Help fix our house and transform our garden in Corfu, Greece

Country

Greece

Favourited 73 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    10  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    10/08/2019

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    159

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 3 days

  • Badges

    Good Host
    Facebook verified
Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    A year ago we bought a property and a piece of land in a beeeaauutiful location in Corfu. It is a big old house split into 4 separate apartments and about an acre of undeveloped land. Our goal is to finish fixing the house up to rent out rooms over the summer season and to turn the garden into a beautiful space with different hang out areas, an outside kitchen, pond and a productive organic garden based on permaculture principals. At the moment the house is connected to mains electricity and water but we plan to move towards being completely off grid as soon as possible!
    It is in a quiet rural part of Corfu, surrounded by olive groves, neighboring a lovely taverna, 5 min walk from Halikounas beach, 15 min walk to the base of a small mountain/big hill and is next to Korission lagoon which is surrounded by a nature reserve with lots of walking paths through it. The closest village, Agios Mattheos is a wonderful traditional place on the side of the mountain 6km away and really you're never too far from anything on an island!
    We are an english family with dreams of one day being as much greek as we are english! At the moment it's just Jane (my mum) there but I'll be joining her in April and various other members of the family and friends will be making appearances over the season, it's a hard place to stay away from! We're all very laid back, friendly people and want the experience to be as much fun as it is hard work.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Farmstay
    Help in the house
    Helping with Tourists
    Art project

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Corfu is an incredible island full of beautiful beaches, amazing food and incredibly friendly people. Life here is lived in the slow lane with a lot of time taken sat outside cafes and bars with a coffee or a beer chatting breeze in the sunshine. There are so many different foods to try and its all sooo fresh, I've never had a tomato anywhere else that's tasted quite so good! There are a lot different seasonal festivals ranging from the ones specific to a town to whole island celebrations and visitors are always warmly received.

  • Help

    Help

    So the focus for the coming 6 months will mostly be the garden. We want to lay a big patio in front of the house, build a big pergola over it and put in an outside kitchen/ eating area. We also want to make a few smaller sitting areas in different areas of the garden with fire pits etc so there will be some hard landscaping/building but also any creative design input is greatly appreciated! And then there will be lots of planting and tending of the planted.
    There are some areas that still need painting and there will be some finishing touches to do in the house to finish the guest rooms etc.
    Skills are fantastic but none of us are particularly experienced with this sort of stuff either so really enthusiasm and a willingness to contribute are the key things to bring with you!
    Also we love people who like to cook as much as we do!

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English and a little greek!

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    You will have a suite to yourself, complete with a bed, a balcony, bathroom and probably a fridge. The hot water comes from solar panels so it can be a little chilly early in the mornings but as soon as the sun is up there is no issue. You can eat with us (vegetarian) usually DIY breakfast, and one cooked meal a day with a mid day snack. We are literally 5 minutes walk form the beach which is a glorious long 5km stretch of sand. This is a very rural area, the nearest shops are several km away - 45 minutes walk to Agios Mattheos although its always easy to hitch a lift.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week








Host ref number: 312334724794