Homeschooling, music, laugh and love in San Paolo di Jesi, Italy




Favourited 947 times

  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Last activity


  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 9 days

  • Badges

    Top Host
  • Description


    *** We are looking for:
    - artists ( painters, dancers,
    musicians, sculptors...)
    - help with computer projects
    - Steinerian teachers
    - help in the house ***

    Hi globetrotters and explorers!

    Welcome to our profile page!

    I am Alessandra (37) and I live with Fabrizio (45) and with our five children, Claudia (7,5) ,Nicoletta (9) ,Sole (2,5) and the twins Michael and Francesco (2 months), in an old farmhouse outside San Paolo di Jesi.

    Fabrizio is a physiotherapist and I am a full time mum.

    I am a singer and Fabrizio can play the bass. I dance the salsa and bachata (two famous Latin-American dances). Fabrizio teaches “Systema”, the Russian Martial Art for self-defense that focuses on knowledge of yourself and on the free movements of the body without tension. Fabrizio is further interested in alternative and traditional Chinese medicine. I like to study psychology and pedagogy, topics that I feel especially attached to because I worked with autistic children and dealt with people of different psychological natures. I am interested in healthy lifestyle, natural births and attachment parenting.

    We love to go camping, walking and hiking in new places, observe the night sky and nature in general.

    Together, we made the decision to homeschool our children. This is because, for us, the most important thing in life is being in touch with reality, being free to choose, and to live every day to fulfil ourselves and to find purpose. We do not think that state or private schools encourage this philosophy; on the contrary, they teach children to obey authority figures, they give no sense of direction, and do not teach children to listen to themselves, or to know what they want or who they are.

    We live in a Universe full of mystery and wonder, and it is fascinating to study it and discover its secrets.

    This is what we want for our children, and this is one of the reasons that we open our home to workawayers!

    The Workaway experience has a very positive effect on the girls. I have observed that receiving/hosting people from outside the family stimulates them to be more open-minded. I don't think that the social skills can grow only in school, where children only encounter other kids of their own age. On the contrary, I believe that by relating to people of all ages they benefit vastly more.

    The Workaway experience is an adventure for us from beginning to end; we are very open-minded and we do not waste too much time with formalities! Everyone starts Workaway for different reasons but in it’s core I think there is a desire to meet, share and love. We would like to encourage you to always be open with us, forget fear, and say what you think and feel! :)

    In the end, for us the really precious things are not money, success or popularity, but happiness from love, self-awareness and true freedom.

    We will be happy to accommodate you, so. .. see you soon!

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Art Projects
    Language practice
    Help with Eco Projects
    DIY and building projects
    Farmstay help
    Babysitting and creative play
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    In addition, having people from different cultures and speaking different languages in our home is a great opportunity for us to improve our English and communication skills. What's more, it is also a good training for us, since one of our goals is to always improve our relationship with humanity as a whole. We live in a world full of diversity, and through workaway we have learned a great deal about other cultures and experiences.

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help


    We are looking for people who are energetic, open, fun, flexible and independently minded. We have very busy lives, and the kind of help that we need varies from one day to the next. As much as we have ideas on what there is to be done and how to do it, we also want you to have initiative, and always welcome your suggestions and ideas.

    A lot of our time revolves around the children, and also some other family members who are in need of a little extra help. We spend so much time giving affection to them that it is also important for us to find someone who will show us affection as well!

    Our three children are full of fun and energy; the choice to homeschool them means that we spend a lot of time with them, and we are always looking for people who will be able to engage with them and play with them, teach them new skills and help them with their homeschooling activities.

    We ourselves are also always happy to have someone to teach us new things! We want to practise and improve our English; I am also learning guitar, and like having someone around to give me some tips and advice. Also, anyone who is knowledgable about astronomy or geology

    We eat as a family, and anyone who can do some cooking for us all is very welcome. I like to cook a variety of delcious Italian dishes, using a variety of ingredients, and love to learn new recipes; it is always great to have help in the kitchen!

    We have a big, beautiful house which also needs looking after: part of the help we ask for is staying on top of the day to day tasks of cleaning, and tidying up and doing the dishes. Anyone who is good at organising is also welcome; the attic and the basement are in need of some systematising!
    As with any home, there are also DIY and maintenance jobs to do; if you have any knowledge of sewing without a machine that would be a plus; I would love to learn!

    Outside we have a vegetable garden which we are keen to bring back to life, as well as a large plot of land which we are deciding how best to use.
    About ou vegetable garden we start from zero. We are also looking for people with permacolture experience to helpout by volunteering to teach us how to create our vegetable garden using permacolture principles.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    Italian: Fluent

  • Accommodation


    We have one room that you would be able to make yourself comfortable in. There is only one bathroom that we share.
    If you have camping supplies and wish to camp in the backyard you would be welcome to.
    Sometimes one room can be shared by multiple workawayers but we always communicate this with our guests in advance. But in the end it is all about communication and we always try to stay flexible.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    To arrive here the closer train station is Jesi and we come to pick you up there.

    San Paolo di Jesi is a very small village of 900 inhabitants located in the hills of Le Marche, one of the most characteristic districts of Central Italy. San Paolo di Jesi is about 40 km from Sirolo and Monte Conero (a popular seaside resort near Ancona) and about 30 km from the amazing caves of Frasassi, the second largest European geological complex.

    Even though we live in the country, the town of Jesi with about 40,000 inhabitants, is close by and it is easy to get there and to the other near by towns by bus or with us when we go. There is a bus stop near our home. We also have two bikes that you can use. We go into town often, for groceries or on little trips for the girls like to the museum or park and would be happy to take you with us if you wish. The weekends are free and can go on your own adventure or join our family on ours! (or you can stay in your bed for 2 days and sleep if you want*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️):)

    *️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️if the girls are not too noisy that is

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 135679229739