Helping to build a modern self sufficient tiny house on wheels in the beautiful sleepy village of Panicheri, Bulgaria

updated
Country

Bulgaria

Favourited 29 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    3  

  • last activity

    Last Activity

    20/09/2018

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    96.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 3 days

  • paid opportunity

    Host offers payment

     

Contact Register
Host on a map
You need to have a valid Workaway subscription to see a host's map
Sign up
  2018 

 Min stay requested: No minimum

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Due to an amazing response from all you beautiful people out there if you have never used a power tool on wood then this is not for you as it will take me 2 weeks to teach you to keep all your fingers safe!
    If you have then come on in to extremly different top end workmanship :)
    Myself and my wife are in the process of building our own completely self sustainable tiny house on wheels. We're an extreme sports couple that has been living off grid for about 6 years now and we want to transfer our knowledge of solar and wind energy into making our own home. We usually run our kitesurfing school in the summer in Turkey and move to Bulgaria in the winter for the beautiful snowy mountains that allow us to snowboard, snowkite and speedfly.

    I'm British and I used to work for many years as a professional builder / carpenter all over the world and with the experience of living in a motorhome and a caravan we've started building our own eco off-grid tiny house.

    My wife is Bulgarian and she works as a php developer remotely from our caravan and occasionally makes trips to the capital (Sofia).

    We're a very easy going couple that loves cooking food from all over the world with an extremely friendly golden retriever.

    Update.
    We are now looking for someone from the 20th September

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Building
    General Maintenance
    Other
    Help with Eco project

  • Help

    Help

    We're looking for people with good carpentry skills or all round general building skills with an eye for detail. Someone to help me with the construction of our tiny house. We offer food, beer, superb organic Cabernet Sauvignon made here along with accommodation and if you're a time served skilled carpenter then also a wage on top of this.

    Couples or two friends together are more than welcome as long as one of you has the skills I need and the other is prepared to help out in other areas like cooking, painting and working in a small organic lutinitsa factory our landlords run :)

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Workawayers will learn top end carpentry / engineering / electrical / solar and many other skills that I have acquired from working in all of these industries for the last 30 years.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English, Bulgarian

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    I've just constructed a beautiful outside dining / living area with dove house accommodation above it consisting of external gas bbq, stove with grill and fridge, comfortable seating area with the dove house above having a queen size bed, mosquito nets and 240V electricity and a separate wash block with shower, sink and toilet and is situated next to our caravan in a wild flower meddow where we rent the field at the back of an old ex socialist fabrica where my workshop is located. The place is now deserted a little like a scene from Mad Max and only the owners, a very lovely easy going couple produce there own organic cheese and lutinisa and one other guy that produces the most amazing organic Cabernet Sauvignon along with many other oak aged wines.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    On the days I cannot build I usually go speedflying / paragliding (I'd be happy to teach you) 30 minutes away from where we live at the beautiful Bulgarian mountain ranges. In the other direction 30 min away is the second biggest city in Bulgaria - Plovdiv which has just been voted European city of Culture 2019. Right next to us is the town of Hisarya that is a hot mineral spa resort perfect for a relaxing day out or you can just relax and chill in the tranquillity of where we live.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4 - 5 hours a day, 5 days a week

My Photo Album

The wash block, toilet and shower.
The dove house where you'll be staying.
Our dove house and caravan right next to each other.
The solar system above the dove house that powers us up.
The seating are underneath the dove house with the BBQ already in place.
Inside the dove house.
Accommodation
Neil, Vania and Nanuk


Host ref number: 575686855266