Help create a self growing organic farm and enjoy Indian lifestyle in Maharashtra, India

Country

India

Favourited 375 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    22  

  • last activity

    Last Activity

    09/11/2018

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    1114

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    88.9 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

  • Badges

    Top Host
    Facebook verified
Contact Register
Host on a map
You need to have a valid Workaway subscription to see a host's map
Sign up
  2018 

 Min stay requested: No minimum

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hello

    Who am I?
    My name is Tushar, I am 33 years old and I am originally from India. After two years of experiential learning / studying Eco-architecture I started my own project on my family land. I also have experience with snake catching and when snakes are found I go to catch them and after release her or him in the closeby jungle...

    What is my project?
    My current project is to create a self growing organic farm using local & natural materials like stone, bamboo, mud, grass and many more obtained in the wild....
    I have divided my land into two parts >
    One being the residential zone where you can reside, chill, make music, hold discussions and sleep your hearts out in the eco-friendly Geo-Dome (made out of bamboo and hey grass) The newly constructed house being a traditional Adiwasi hut is the community space....
    Second being the earth friendly organic farm which has different veggies, fruits and pulses all through the according to the season....

    Where is it?
    My land is located in a deep internal village Uddhar that falls between Mumbai and Pune. It is a small village where you can literally see clear skies in the day and spot constellations at night. Its a good spot for birdwatchers. The areas vegetation is open scrubland and there is a nice flourishing river next to my farm. A semi wild cowherd passes by everyday and wild Indian animals can be spotted. People who struggle to find peace in their city life can make this their Dojo/Ashram for meditation. My village is quite a cultural place with the rich village culture still intact. I would also request the volunteers to share their cultures and way of living or even leave a momento of their culture in my heterogeneous land!

    What volunteering?
    Now comes the request, as organic farming is a slow-yield process, it would be really helpful if the volunteer can help me with the basic amenities provided in the farm to keep the earth friendly place alive for the next person who visits.
    Volunteers can help me with the organic farming or the earth friendly constructions happening at my place. This place is always open for new, creative and innovative methods and ideas of farming and building.

    What time?
    Volunteers can work about 5 hours a day for 5 days in a week. Specific timings can be decided personally.

    Precaution!
    If you have any allergy to any kind of food or water, please let me know in advance, so that we can organize nutritious, organic food yet nonallergic food specially for you. My mom and I are very good Indian cooks, we make dishes like chapati, Curry's dhals and poori.

    Some RULES to follow!
    The best would be to avoid generating any inorganic waste but I would request everyone to keep their plastic and inorganic wastes with them and dump it somewhere out..
    Also, excessive noise after a certain time at night would disturb the villagers who have a sleep early and wake early routine. If you are still awake after sunset don't walk without torch! For there are some creepers and crawlers you don't want to step on.

    Sometimes i cant open this website on my mobile, for this i have to go to the cyber cafe. it is nice if you send me msg or whatsupp me. Its very easy for me to contact you.
    Thank You.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Babysitting / child care
    General Maintenance
    Other
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Art project

  • Help

    Help

    Volunteers can help me with the organic farming or sometimes the earth friendly constructions happening at my place. This place is always open for new, creative and innovative methods and ideas of farming and building.


    Volunteers can help out about 5 hours a day for 5 days in a week. Specific timings can be decided personally.The great news and opportunity for you all my best friends.



    This time I have started new project desi chikan farm so you can work also with chikan.

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    They can learn Indian village lifestyle, Organic Farming and eco construction method..

    My land is family land and now the land is divided by 5 people. So I have to start again from first level. First i have to build mud house with bamboo and wood, second i have to start farming. So I need a lot of support if you have any knowledge related both please come to my place and help me out.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    Hindi, Marathi, English,

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    There are several possibilities for accommodation, if you have water proof tents you can enjoy the starry nights and the cool breeze. If you like to sleep under the stars that is possible as well! And of course there is enough accommodation in my earth friendly cottages.

    How about experiencing few days unplugged from gadgets? You can definitely experience it here as there is no electricity connection at my farm. There are two eco friendly compost toilets and a basic shower at the farm. There is a river next to the farm where you can wash as well.

    We will have all our meals at my parents house in the nearby village, where you can also have a warm shower and charge your phone & laptop if you want.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We will also enjoy the waterfall if the time is right. Pack your fishing rods if you fancy a quiet time by the river....

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

farm

Volunteers are celebrating Indian tradition when they are here.
Celebrating volunteers birthday in Indian traditional style.
Clay oven
Naturel bamboo bed made by volunteers. Masti mood.
This is traditional karvi house. Using for volunteers staying.
Vada Pav nice snack in my village.

















Host ref number: 574351847422