Experience off-grid village life with our organic homestead community in Ontario, Canada

Country

Canada

Favourited 84 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    9  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    22/10/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 2 days

  • Badges

    Super Host
Contact Register
  2019 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are a village of separate households of single people and families scattered over 100 hilly wooded acres. We homestead in varying degrees, living off-grid using some solar electricity and heating with wood. We grow organically much of our fruits and vegetables; some eggs and meat. We’ve spent 50 years learning how to be good neighbours, which has been a worthwhile process.

    Most of our children were home birthed and many have been homeschooled; ages five years to nineteen. Weekly ecstatic dance nights, swimming in our pond, trampolining, tobogganing, snowshoeing, sauna-ing, and potlucks are some of the things we do for fun. We all share a love of nature and the arts.

    A multi-generational community, we are all involved with the surrounding and supportive rural community in varying degrees.

    Some of what we have to teach includes: organic growing practices, composting, humanure composting, sustainable forestry, non-violent communication, food preservation, fermenting, keeping bees, maple syruping, baking with a cob oven, growing and using natural dyes, and having a light footprint on the land.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Babysitting / child care
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Language practice
    Art project

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    You would get to be part of a community with a variety of people of different ages/experience levels/interests to interact with and learn from. We believe in connecting with the land, and encourage you to do so as well. This is a lovely part of the earth, with hilltop views, forest, streams, and grassy pastures filled with medicinal plants. We really love to have helpers and visitors participate in the goings-on of the community. We would encourage you to come to our weekly meetings (we'd love to share what we've learned over the years about how to have effective meetings), our circles for resolving conflicts, and to celebratory events, such as dances and pot lucks.

  • Help

    Help

    The work we need help with changes with the season. In the early spring (February and March) we need help with maple syruping, chopping and stacking wood, and starting seedlings. In April and early May, we need help preparing garden beds, and weeding. In late May-July, we need help planting and watering gardens and in August-October we need help harvesting and putting our gardens "to bed" for the winter as well as cutting and stacking firewood. Throughout the year we need help caring for animals, maintaining buildings, cutting firewood, preserving food, clearing walking trails, driveway maintenance, caring for children, and helping with various communal projects.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English, some French

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    There are a variety of dwellings possible for you to stay; either in the home of your "host" (the person or family you are helping) - which might look like an extra room or just an extra bed, or possibly a cabin to yourself depending on what is available and makes sense at the time of your stay. All of our buildings are off-grid, and have outdoor toilets. Some buildings have running water, some have HOT running water! Most are rustic, made of wood. One of our homes is a straw bale building.
    Your host is responsible for feeding you (ex: if you work with someone for the day, they would feed you three meals). Foods made here tend to be omnivore fare - usually organic, mostly home grown/raised, including lots of yummy fermented creations (sauerkraut, kimchi and home brewed mead and cider are regular accoutrements to the meal).

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Transportation to us can be challenging! Best is if you have a car. Hitch-hiking is also possible. Often there are people coming and going from here who can give you a lift. We will keep our ear out for rides if we know you are coming.

    Public transit options:
    There are limited Greyhound buses () from Toronto and Ottawa that will get you nearer to us.

    From Toronto:
    The buses from Toronto to Barry's Bay (for some reason they have it in their system without an apostrophe - Barrys Bay) runs on Friday and Sunday only, leaving at 8:45am. If you buy your ticket ahead of time, on the internet, it can cost $39.90 one way. If you buy it at the station on the day of, it's $69.90! At peak times of year (July and August) the buses fill up (the rest of the year they can run almost empty), so get your ticket early, if possible!

    From Ottawa: the buses go to Pembroke at 10am each day, and if you purchase your ticket ahead of time on the internet it is $26. Pembroke is an hour from us, but there is often someone willing to go there and pick you up. Let us know ahead of time you will be needing this.

    Other things:
    We have written a values statement, which expresses what we are shooting for as a community. It is a work in progress. We can send it to you by email, if you are interested.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)








Host ref number: 864739881756