Join our family of 4 living on beautiful Vancouver Island, BC, Canada

new host
Country

Canada

Favourited 25 times


  • rating

    Host rating

    Not yet rated
  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    26/05/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    92.9 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are a family of 4 living on beautiful Vancouver Island, BC, Canada. Me (mama) works from home as a curriculum creator while homeschooling our two amazing children who are 6 and 4 years old 😊 My husband works as an IT Engineer, which keeps him very busy at certain times of the year, but he loves the job and the challenges that come with it! This is our 3rd year adoring the island life, we previously lived in hectic, but lovely, Vancouver. One of our family’s interests is enjoying the outdoors and luckily our home is not too far from beaches, parks, forests, trails, and a few hobby farms. We're keen on welcoming a new friend into our home while also learning about your culture, language, and hopefully food 😉 We have traveled a great deal and always enjoyed meeting people from other countries, and hope others will also enjoy experiencing all that our part of Canada has to offer!

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Babysitting / child care
    Cooking / shopping
    Help in the house
    Language practice
    Teaching

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We would like our Workawayer to feel comfortable while staying with us, so please feel free to join in any of our family’s activities. Our home is a mix of Canadian and South-Asian roots, which allows for a unique cultural exchange. My husband and I are bilingual - both of us speak English and Urdu/Hindi. I am trying to encourage our children to learn our mother language, but this can be a challenge, as many children find English the easier language to speak 😉 If you have interest in education this is also a great learning opportunity to observe our homeschooling culture and see how children learn through various activities and lessons. Outside the house our city offers a variety of events which suit different tastes, so there is a little something for everyone. We have cultural celebrations, seasonal festivals, historic landmarks, farmers markets, volunteering opportunities, libraries, and recreation centers – just to name a few. There are local buses and ferries which allow you to explore the city or venture out and discover more the West Coast region. If you enjoy nature there are many possibilities, some of which include hiking, kayaking, berry picking, and cycling. For those who like to keep busy in a city setting, we are about 30-45 minutes away by bus from downtown Victoria, the capital of BC. Finally, if you are a Workawayer who is hoping to improve their English, I have years of teaching experience and could help with lessons or examination study (TOEFL, IELTS, SAT). If there is anything you would like to teach us such as a new language, recipes, art, handicrafts, sports, we always love learning!

  • Help

    Help

    We are hoping for help with childcare, downsizing/organization, meal prep, and general household help. We have a good size yard and garden, so if you enjoy gardening, any help would be appreciated . I've listed more details below..

    We require someone with childcare experience who, of course, enjoys being around children 😊 We're looking for a mature, enthusiastic, and compassionate female Workawayer. Our kids are fun and caring individuals who are hoping to connect with someone who also welcomes going to parks, reading children’s books, baking, playing board games, and many other fun activities. As homeschoolers, help with teaching or lessons would be welcome, but this is not a requirement by any means. We would really like someone who can be a friend of the family whilst providing help with childcare and assist with some household responsibilities. Some of the help we would need is listed below, but I would also like our children to assist as these are important life-long tools to learn.

    -loading/unloading dishwasher
    -meal/snack prep
    -tidying up shared spaces
    -decluttering/organizing/downsizing

    Also, if you like to cook, we'd love to have some of your favorite dishes, but cooking is not expected.

    We are flexible, but our ideal help schedule would be 4-5 hours per day, five days a week.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English, Urdu, Hindi

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    You will have a medium size bedroom and a detached washroom on the ground floor. Our rooms are upstairs, so you will have a reasonable amount of privacy. There is a shared office/playroom on the ground floor which is only used occasionally during the day. Your bedroom has a comfy, clean queen size bed with a medium sized closet. You will have access to all food in the kitchen, which is a shared space on the upper floor, so please feel free to make any snacks or meals you like. Please note as we do not consume alcohol and pork, we kindly ask volunteers to respect our wishes and also not consume these items in the house. At this time, we can only accept a non-smoker female guest, but might possibly accept two volunteers depending on the situation. As we try to model and teach our children about tidiness, we hope that our guest will also keep their living area in a neat manner. We also have a bicycle and helmet which you can use at your convenience. We live about 1km from the nearest bus stop, but when possible, one of us can always drive you to another main transportation (bus) location.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Workawayers can also explore further away places in our region such as Tofino, Port Renfrew and the Gulf Islands. With the mildest climate in Canada, you will also see gardens bloom year-round in the Greater Victoria area. The city is tied closely to both land and sea and the rugged natural beauty of the Pacific Coast encourages all-season adventures in the great outdoors. Easy to explore by foot and at your own pace, a visit to Victoria can be as relaxing and rejuvenating as it is educational and exciting. Take advantage of the diverse historical, architectural and multicultural makeup that comes from being the oldest city in the Pacific Northwest. From First Nations history to British colonial and Asian traditions, and the landmarks, culture, cuisine, festivals and vibrant atmosphere that come with them, Victoria, B.C. is one of the world's favorite destinations. Volunteers may want to also visit the big city of Vancouver on a weekend too. As a traveler you will also cross paths with many tourists from other different cultures who visit this beautiful area of Canada.

    Lastly, we are flexible, honest, and considerate people - we expect the same from others in our home.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week


Host ref number: 549282562372