Help me build a house in Aragon, Spain

Country

Spain

Favourited 187 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    34  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    13/07/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 3 days

  • Badges

    Top Host
Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: No minimum

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    I've just moved to a new place in the countryside. I've been working at the place for the last 6 months but I still have a huge amount of work to do....

    Most of the tasks in the house are about building interiors, painting, and a lot of little fixing in many parts of the building. Apart from that, outside there are many many many things to do in order to get the place looks nice: gardening, cleaning, taking care of the tree.... But there is one of the things outside that I find it very interesting which is to cover the walls with recycling wood that I have kept waiting for that...

    But it's necessary to point out that the current situation is not the best for workawayers. I'll explain that. There are two big warehouses of 200m2 each. One of them is “my house”, where I'm building half of it which will be the real house. At this moment, none of the rooms are finished. I'm working hard on the guests room (thinking of you), and at the same time I'm working in all the rooms because some parts of the building depend on the others, like the electricity, plumbing... Anyway, to call this a “house” is just a way to speak. The house it doesn't look like the picture everybody has about a house, even assuming that I'm sleeping inside... At least there is hot water for the shower, and I have Internet. But another thing that I have right now is a camper van (have a look to the picture) which is fine to sleep a couple inside. It's only for sleeping, of course, the rest of the life is outside. But as a provisional shelter until the room is ready, it could work for you :-)

    What I've done is to prepare a 50m2 room in the other warehouse (which is supposed to be the music room) where I have the kitchen and a small fire heater (with wood), and my bed. It's a small apartment, so to say. I might say that looks comfortable, even quite romantic, and I think that I will have to pass the winter in... Not bad for me. But I'm working hard on the guests room so that you the guests feel comfortable enough.

    As summary, this is what you will find if you wish to come now:

    - Cold weather
    - A “house” in progress...
    - A camper.
    - When the guests room is ready, heating with electric heaters, and fire stove in the main room.
    - Isolation from civilization (the bus stop is 1,2Km away).
    - Lots of different tasks to do. The idea is that you have the morning free to do whatever you want, and then you help me during the evenings after lunch (I'm back from work around 3. In Spain we usually have lunch and dinner much later than in the rest of Europe).
    - Internet.
    - The cats and Lili always wishing to play.ç
    - Nice walks next to a water channel.
    - Good vibes and atmosphere.

    In any case, expect tasty and healthy veggie meals :-) Some of the vegetables are from the vegetable garden, but right now I don't have much time to take care of it, and I have less vegetables than I'd like to. And winter time it's not the right moment for vegetables, of course... I have also some hence chickens so I will have fresh eggs until they decide to stop with the cold. I love that! Although I'm vegetarian (I eat eggs and dairy products), I will respect you if you go the shop to get some meat and you cook it for you. No problem at all. But I will try to do my best in the kitchen so that you don't miss meat or fish in any moment... And if you want to cook and teach me new recipes, you're very welcome, fore sure. :-)

    I don't want you to work more than the time you think is fair. I find that in some cases, some hosts use Workaway as a platform to find free labor hand, so to say, slaves. I don't like that. I'm up to the idea of sharing the life, sharing the chores... something like when you are living in a flat with other mates. So, I give you shelter and food, and you help me out with my duties. I guess that this was the original philosophy of this site. So what I expect from the workaway experience is to share the feeling of living in community. I don't want to consider myself "the boss" and you "the worker".

    By the way, if you happen to play an instrument, you are more than welcome to bring it and play it! I have a nice music-room with some equipment, where we can jam. In any case, you must now that I have a couple of guitars (classic and electric), an electric bass, drums, different percussion instruments, keyboard, a flute and a couple of sax... All the instruments are looking forward to be played by you...

    Also, I'm interested in solar-energy issues. I have a project on this matter with a workmate. So if you are into this, we can share our experience about that.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Other
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Language practice

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Zaragoza is an interesting town, with many amenities, live gigs, theater, museums, tapas, night life... We'll go many times to downtown to enjoy the night life.

  • Help

    Help

    Construction, bio-construction, plumbing, electricity, general maintenance, animal care (dog, cats chickens), some gardening...

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    Spanish and English.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    There is a private room with a queen bed and a single one. I've got linens, towel, shampoo... no need to bring anything.
    If you are three people (a couple and someone else) the room will be OK for the 3 of you. It's not pretty big, but it's fine for some weeks.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    I'm a vegetarian, not vegan, and I love cooking.
    I play sax (as a hobby), and I love everything related with playing with other people, mostly jazz.

    Soy vegetariano, ovolácteo, y me encanta cocinar.
    Toco el saxo (aficionado, no soy profesional), y me encanta todo lo relacionado con tocar música en grupo, sobre todo el jazz.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 3-5 hours a day, weekends free.






















Host ref number: 436398325117