Come and experience sustainable living close to La Paloma, Uruguay

Country

Uruguay

Favourited 109 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    7  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    22/10/2020

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    358

  • Badges

    Good Host
    Facebook verified
 
  2021 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are a Uruguyan/ German couple that lives in the beautiful Eastern part of Uruguay. We live on a small farm close to the beach town of La Paloma (18km) and the capital of the state Rocha (also named Rocha) is about the same distance (17km).
    We are still in the process of settling down, so there is quite some work to do. Currently we are setting up our (organic) vegetable garden and are about to plan the construction of another building.
    We live here with our Dalmatian Mitra, the cat Cara and our two horses Luna and Sereno.
    If you come while we are here; as we are vegetarians you will have to adapt to our diet :-) and if you are here while we are away we ask you to cook vegetarian as well :-) as it is part of our life style.
    We are looking for people (25 and older) that like to work in nature, use their hands and enjoy a simple life.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    General Maintenance
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Farmstay help
    Help with Eco Projects
    Help around the house
    Animal Care

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    As we speak several languages between the two of us (Chinese, English, French,Spanish and Portuguese) there is no need for you to speak Spanish but it is an ideal place to learn or improve your Spanish skills. We already had people staying with us (before registering here) and what they told us was that they liked the way how they could study the language. We love music, hence do play some instruments and like singing. On the other hand we do like silence as well: we do meditate every day. You are most welcome to join us in our activities.

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help

    Help

    The kind of work that we need help with depends much on the season and weather conditions. What we are looking for is people with an pro active attitude, able to listen to indications and not shy to ask if they need another explanation.
    Daniel works a lot in carpentry so if you like to work with wood and know what you are doing that would be a great advantage.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Fluent
    French: Fluent
    Portuguese: Fluent
    Chinese (Mandarin): Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Depending on the weather situation you can set up your tent (there´s plenty of space:-) or we can offer you a a fully furnished cabin by the ocean - in this case you will need to get out to our campo for work. In which we may need to arrange work times differently (not as depicted above 4-5hs/ day but instead whole working days and then a couple of days off).

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Although we are not living in a city that does not mean we are not connected to the world ... we have a stable internet connection, so if you need the internet that is not a problem.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    This host has indicated that they love having digital nomads stay.

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    This host can provide space for campervans.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 6 hours a day, 5 days a week






Host ref number: 665375332982