Come and help me around my fruit farm while getting to know a rich local culture in Albadar, Senegal

  • Senegal
  • Favourited 34 times
  • Last activity: 29 Mar 2023




  • Description


    Hello, my name is Ousseynou. I am Papayaculteur, I have a farm of Papayas, Oranges, Karassol, Guavas, and many other plants and fruit trees in Albadar, Kerwoane Diannah. I have half a hectare, and I would like help with the marilage and the other fruit trees on my land. The work will be very varied. You can help me water the plants, plant and cultivate new different plants and harvest fruits and vegetables. But Linchirai is also a place to train local and international people how to grow papayas. Albadar is a very welcoming little village with different ethnicities and rich cultures. I live with my family, my brother and my children in the village. During your stay here you will have the possibility to sleep in a room in our family house. Here you will discover the Senegalese culture, taste the traditional dishes, see the dance and the traditional music, and learn the marichage. We are not far from the sea on one side, and on the other side there is the river and rice fields.


    Je m’apelle Ousseynou. Je suis Papayaculteur, j'ai une ferme de Papayas, des Oranges, Karassol, Goyaves, et beaucoup d'autres plants et des arbres fruitiers à Albadar, Kerwoane Diannah.

    J'ai un demi hectare, et je voudrais de l'aide avec le marichage et les autres arbre de fruits sur mon terrain.
    Le travail serai très varié. Vous pouvez m‘aider aroser les plantes, planter et cultiver des nouveau pieds differents et recolter les fruits et légumes.
    Mais Linchirai est aussi un lieu pour former des gens locaux et internationaux comment cultiver des papayas.

    Albadar c'est un petit village très accueillant avec des differents éthnies et cultures riches.

    J'habite avec ma famille, mon frère et mes enfants dans le village. Pendant ton séjour ici tu aura la possibilité de dormir dans une chambre dans notre maison familiale. Ici tu va decouvrir la culture Senegalais, gouter les plats traditionnels, voir la danse et la musique traditionelle, et apprendre le marichage. On n'est pas loin de la mer d'une côte, et pour l'autre cote il y a la rivière et des rizières.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    DIY and building projects
    General Maintenance
  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    You would learn how to grow fruits but also many other things. Our culture is rich and there is a lot to discover. There are many languages spoken here. And you would be taught a lot about traditions and culture, including traditional ceremonies. In Albadar there are many ethnicities, each with their own culture and traditions.

    Vous apprendriez comment on cultivés des fruits mais aussi plein d'autres choses. Notre culture c'est riche et il y a beaucoup de découvrir. Il y a de nombreuses langues parlées ici. Et on vous apprendrait beaucoup de choses en ce qui concerne les traditions et la culture, y compris des cérémonies traditionelles.

    À Albadar il y a de nombreuses ethnies, chacun avec leur propre culture et traditions.

  • Help


    We are going to do the husbandry, weed the plants, plant, take care of the plants and harvest the fruits. We can share farming ideas and learn together. There are always maintenance tasks to be done in the field. You can bring your ideas too and be creative

    On va faire le marichage, arroger des plants, planter, prendre soin des plants et récolter des fruits.

    On peut partager des idées d'agriculture et apprendre ensemble. Il y a toujours des tâches d'entretien de faire dans le champs.

    Vous pouvez amener vôtres idées aussi et être créatif

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    French: Fluent
    Wolof: Fluent
    English: Beginner

    This host offers a language exchange
    This host has indicated that they are interested in sharing their own language or learning a new language.
    You can contact them directly for more information.

  • Accommodation


    We are going to build accommodation on the farm for volunteers. But for now, the volunteers will stay in their own room in our family home in the village. There will be a bed and a local toilet and shower. Normally we take meals together, and we eat from one dish. At your pleasure, we will live together in a Senegalese way.

    On va constuire un logement dans la ferme pour des volontaires. Mais pour le moment, les volontaires vont rester dans leur propre chambre dans notre maison familiale aux village. Il y aura un lit et une toilette et douche locales.

    Normalement on prend les repas ensemble, et on mange d'un seul plat. A votre plaisir, on vivra ensemble dans une façon Senegalais.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Ici on mange beacoup de fruit frais qui est très bon pour le santé, ce qui est cultivé ici.

    On est pas loin de les rizières et la rivière (la Casamance) d'un côté, et de la plage et Abéné de l'autre côté. Le paysage c'est très beaux, et il y a la possibilité de vous immerser dans la culture, profiter de la nature et aussi visiter les sites touristiques d'Abéné.

    Il y a plein des évènements musicale pendant toute l'année

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    This host can provide space for campervans.

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets

    This host has said they are willing to accept those travelling with a pet.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 978898539681

Feedback (3)


These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)

Agroecology for sustainable development helps reduce poverty and violence in Senegal, Africa