Join us in creating a self-sustainable home near Saintes, France

Country

France

Favourited 45 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    23/11/2021

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    96.7 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 8 days

 
  2021 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hello, myself and my partner Alexandre (with our baby daughter, 2 large dogs and 2 cats) are looking for some help on our small farm, after spending the past year on the house renovations we are finally ready to move in and focus on the land, with the aim to gain some self-sufficiency.
    We are in a small village 17800 between Saintes and Cognac (Charente-Maritime).

    Bonjour, mon compagnon Alexandre et moi (ainsi que notre bébé, nos deux chiens et deux chats) cherchons quelqu’un pour nous aider dans notre petite ferme familiale. Après avoir passé un an à rénover la maison, nous venons d’emménager et sommes maintenant prêts à nous concentrer sur la ferme, afin de nous diriger vers l’auto-suffisance.
    Nous sommes situés dans le petit village de Saint-Sever-de-Saintonge (17800), entre Cognac et Saintes en Charente-Maritime.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Language practice
    Help with Eco Projects
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Farmstay help
    Babysitting and creative play
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    I myself travelled around Australia using Helpx a few years ago and really loved doing so, I had the best time and made some great friends. We can offer you an insight into our lives and our journey to self sufficiency. We are happy to share our knowledge and you can gain skills while working.

    J’ai moi-même parcouru l’Australie en tant que woofer avec Helpx il y a quelques années et j’en garde d’excellents souvenirs, avec des moments supers et de belles rencontres, donc je comprends très bien l’esprit du woofing.

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help

    Help

    The help would be varied from day to day and is mostly outdoors. Jobs can include clearing the land and preparing some of the outbuildings for animals. Feeding and caring for the animals, baby goats and chickens. Other examples of tasks might include, fencing, pulling ivy from the fruit trees, harvesting, gardening, and some painting around the house. People with DIY skills very welcome! We would also appreciate occasional help in the house such as cooking and cleaning but we do prepare most of the meals for you. Another option if you wanted to come but not for farm work would be to care for our daughter so that we are able to work outside.

    L’aide dont nous avons besoin est variée, avec notamment l’entretien des terres et la maintenance des dépendances qui accueillent nos poules et chèvres. Parmi les autres tâches : clôturer, entretenir le verger et réaliser des travaux de rénovation extérieure (peinture principalement). Les personnes compétentes en bricolage sont les bienvenues ! Nous demandons un minimum d’aide avec les tâches ménagères, mais nous préparons la grande majorité des repas pour vous. Une possibilité si vous ne souhaitez pas faire de travail dans la ferme est de faire du baby-sitting pendant que nous travaillons.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    Welsh: Fluent
    English: Fluent
    French: Fluent
    German: Intermediate

    This host offers a language exchange
    We are a bilingual English / French household

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    The work described above would be in exchange for food and accommodation. We have a guest room available and we are sharing the bathroom.

    En échange nous offrons le couvert et le logement. Nous avons une chambre d’amis, la salle bain est partagée avec nous.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    The area itself is best suited to someone with their own car to make the most of free time but this is not an issue if you wish to travel by public transport, I can collect you from the train station. We have bikes that you can borrow.
    There are plenty of outdoor activities that can be done, we are just a couple of kilometers from La Charente, where you can kayak or cycle along le flow velo (long distance bicycle track), or plenty of historic sites and forests to hike around and we are about 45 minutes from the nearest beach.
    Please get in touch if you are interested, let us know when you would like to come and for how long.

    Le coin où nous nous trouvons est plutôt adapté pour quelqu’un ayant un véhicule si vous voulez vraiment en profiter. Il y a beaucoup d’activités de plein air : nous sommes à quelques kilomètres de la Charente, qui est un très bon fleuve pour kayaker ou faire du vélo le long du flow vélo (pistes de longue distance), avec de nombreux sites historiques et des forêts et chemins de rando, ainsi que la plage (Royan notamment, ainsi que l’ile d’Oléron), qui est à 45 minutes.
    N’hésitez pas à me contacter si vous êtes intéressés, en me disant quand vous seriez disponibles et pour combien de temps.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    We have decent wifi but no dedicated desk space to offer you.

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    You can park up anywhere you like on our land or in the big open barn for extra shelter and continue to use the facilities in our house.

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets

    We can accept dogs friendly with other dogs and animals.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    5 hours per day 5 days per week


Host ref number: 211541114365