Home away from home!! Join our family, and enjoy a bit of Kiwi hospitality in Whakatane, New Zealand

Favourited 50 times

  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Last Activity


  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends


  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 2 days

  • Badges

    Good Host
    Facebook verified
Contact Register

 Min stay requested: at least a week

  • Description


    My husband and I are Dairy Farmers (milking 500 cows) and live just 18 mins from the main seaside town of Whakatane in New Zealand. The closest little town from our farm is Edgecumbe (5 mins drive) offering a selection of great take-away foods, a pub or if you're keen to just take a lazy stroll along the Rangateiki River bank. We are also just 5 mins away from Thornton Beach allowing for great fishing or sunbathing! A 30 mins drive to some of Rotorua's most beautiful lakes starting with Lake Rotoma and Lake Rotoiti. The city of Tauranga and Rotorua are only an hours drive away jam packed with loads of tourist attractions and gorgeous scenery. If you are not keen to venture that far, then we have Awakeri hot pools, the Whakatane wharf or take a boat ride to the worlds only active Marine Volcano, White Island. Adventure all on your doorstep!
    We have two independent daughters, and a 1 year old grandson. We emigrated from South Africa 18 years ago to make a new life for ourselves in New Zealand and could not be any happier! We have always had a special love for the great outdoors and animals, so it made perfect sense to become farmers and enjoy the land, sun (and rain) and gorgeous scenery. We have 2 horses, a talking Galah Parrot, 2 cats and a friendly, hyperactive working dog (Australian Cattle Dog).

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Cooking / shopping
    General Maintenance
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Helping with Tourists

  • Help


    We would love for you to share in the daily chores of running a small but busy household and farm. Tasks may include a little Housekeeping/cooking/gardening (ride on mower available) and someone to exercise our horses but must be experienced rider. Would suit traveler who is looking for a bit of adventure. Must be honest and reliable! You will need to have a full drivers licence, and be able to make healthy meals, but most of all....have a good sense of humor! We grow our own beef, and try to grow a reasonable size veggie garden through Spring and Summer. We have a few fruit trees that need picking, which may include grapefruit, Feijos, peach, orange, lemon and lime, depending on the season. A creative mind either in the kitchen or garden is always appreciated. We may ask for a little assistance on the farm, whether it be tidying up of sheds, weed spraying, cleaning some parts of the dairy or assisting with repairs to fences. If you are keen to try some milking, then that's just fine too! Our biggest expectation from guests would be to respect our home, and animals as they are part of our family, but we also want you to feel comfortable and enjoy your stay!

    There could also be a possibility for paid hours for doing a little bit of milk harvesting, but this will all depend on demand and availability at the time. Full training would be provided.

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Good Kiwi hospitality! You will be treated like family with reasonable time off to explore the most beautiful parts of NZ.
    As an added bonus, Richard, is not only a dairy farmer but a qualified diesel mechanic who has on the last two occasions assisted our work aways with the purchases of their vehicles (station wagons). This has prevented them from being ripped off by shady car sales people, and allowed them to continue on with their travels having great peace of mind!
    We also assist with telephone calls for obtaining good third party car insurance, especially for those who are not fluent in English. We do however, charge a small fee to cover the costs of petrol for seeing these cars, as well as our time away from doing other farm work. Please see our past reviews.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken


  • Accommodation


    Our home is small but it is our castle! Not much to look at from the outside, but not bad inside either. We have the Venetian room for couples, and then a family room with a single over double bunk. All beds have new mattresses. There is only 1 bathroom (separate bath & shower) shared with us, a separate toilet combined with laundry room, a modern kitchen and dinning area. Sundeck with outdoor furniture, BBQ, spa pool with views over lush green paddocks.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    NB: You must provide us with a copy of your HOLIDAY WORKING VISA prior to your arrival as this is a requirement by New Zealand Immigration Law and there will be no exceptions. You are NOT ALLOWED to work or do any volunteer work on just a holiday visa, so please make sure you have the correct visas before you make accommodation arrangements. There are some countries that are not listed on the NZ Immigration website as been allowed to obtain these visas so please check with . You will need to organize your own transport for days off and sightseeing etc Applicants must be drug free, clean and tidy. We can arrange to have you picked up from the closest bus stop or airport.

    Just a friendly reminder!
    NB: Please be mindful and not take advantage of our warm and friendly hospitality by treating our place like a free holiday resort, and not working the hours that you are supposed to do each day. We do not provide you with free alcohol (unless offered), or allow you to use our internet for downloading or streaming movies every night.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

My Photo Album

Host ref number: 135939869441