Stay and play on our dairy farm in Taranaki, New Zealand


New Zealand

Favourited 213 times

  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Last activity


  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends


  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    92.9 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 6 days

  • Badges

    Top Host
    Facebook verified
Contact Register

 Min stay requested: at least a week

  • Description


    New Zealand is known for it's production of world class dairy products, and Taranaki in particular is a strong and traditional dairying area. Come and see what it is all about straight from the cow!

    We are a mid thirties couple and 17 year old teen living and working our 400 cow conventional dairy farm. Ian works full time on the farm. Ethan (17) boards during the week to study at school and comes home in the weekends. Our 22 yr old son Jack works part time on the farm (lives elsewhere) I (LeAnne) am a self employed accountant who divides my time between the farm and my local practice in Inglewood.

    We have 2 family dogs and 3 dogs belonging to one of our staff on the farm. Also a welsh pony stud. We are 6km to the nearest small town of Inglewood and 20 minutes to New Plymouth (the nearest city.) You must love dogs to be here as all of our dogs are very friendly loving pets. They are part of our family and they do live inside.

    The ponies belong to my mother mostly. We have a mixture of youngsters from foals to adults including stallions and broodmares. They can be handled but we reserve this for experienced horse people only. LeAnne rides over the farm on her own horse when she has time but we are not an "equestrian center" with most activity centered around the cows.

    The farm is a mixture of contour with views to die for. It is dotted with islands of natural bush and is a haven for loads of bird life. We enjoy entertaining and pride ourselves on great food and hospitality. We raise most of our own meat on the farm (beef, lamb, veal and occasionally some pork and venison) and eat loads of fresh produce that we swap and trade for locally. We love to cook and share our food - so expect good hearty meals made from scratch with love. We tend to center our lives around the kitchen with general conversation and banter. We can cater for vegetarians and other diets if we are given notice.

    We lead an active lifestyle and when not farming we volunteer for a few local charities and sports clubs, fish, play sport, and generally get out and about.

    Having hosted workaway for 18 months we took a break due to a change in circumstances and are now wanting to offer to host again. Our usual cottage is rented, so accomodation is now in the main house.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Charity work

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We are a well travelled couple who grew up in Taranaki but have lived all over the world. We take pride in the place we live and are looking forward to sharing our experience and knowledge with others.

  • Help


    General Bio-

    At the moment we are heading into calving season. The busiest time of the year. Looking for preferable two travelers (either a couple or friends) preferably with their own vehicle to stay and help out. Most work will be done around the house with a mixture of farm work involved.


    Looking for a variety of skills - any help is good help! Anything from feeding animals, gardening, riparian and sustainability planting projects, cooking/preserving and help around the house. We are busy people and there is something always going on around us on the farm, everyone is expected to pitch in when needed.

    Over the winter months (May/June/July) we focus on farm maintenance - repairing, cleaning, tidying, weed spraying, water blasting, scrubbing and preparing for the coming season. The dairy season ends in May for us when the cows stop being milked- so everything is about getting things in ship shape for the coming season.

    August - September are our busiest months of the year with the herd calving (having their babies) We farm big days here and look for all round help to keep things clean, help with calves and general farm labour. Also additional help in the house would really be appreciated if farming is not your thing - anyone who wants to keep house, cook and keep up with the housework would be hugely appreciated over calving time (and you get to stay in the dry and warm!)

    October - December we are in full swing of farming, Milking twice a day, making sileage, feeding calves and cows and generally keeping things running.

    Jan - March things start winding down. Calves are now weaned and we get nicer weather and summer activities of making hay and seasonal maintenance. This is where we focus on weed spraying as well.

    We are looking for physically fit people with energy and enthusiasm who wish to learn what NZ farming is like.

    Most volunteer help is done in the mornings and workawayers help from Monday to Friday leaving you free to explore in the afternoons and weekends. We are happy to be flexible if you have day trips and activities planned.

    We've embraced the workaway philosophy, we have full time staff to manage the day to day running of the farm, so the workawayer's help is for the extra activities and projects we have.

    We are pretty good with those who are not strong English speakers - attitude makes up for everything. So long as you are prepared to learn and be patient with us - we do get there in the end!

    We recommend you plan to stay at least a week to get the feel for the place - obviously you can stay shorter or longer by arrangement. Most of our previous workawayers have stayed 10 days and wished it was longer!

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken


  • Accommodation


    Accomodation is within the main house in the "older" end. One bedroom with 2 single beds and a bathroom shared part of time with one other.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    The Taranaki Region of New Zealand has recently been voted the second best region in the world to visit by Lonely Planet. And no wonder, with mountains. beaches, incredible landscape, world class art galleries and museums- there is something for everyone. If you are into walking, scenery and the outdoors- then this is the place for you. Fairly untouched and off the usual "tourist" track - the region is (in our opinion) one of the best kept secrets of New Zealand travel.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?


  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 661745493253

Give the gift of Workaway this Christmas
read more