Come to a homestay in Dobrich, Bulgaria

  • Favourited 240 times
  • Last activity: 31 Dec 2023

Availability

  2024 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Details

  • Description

    Description

    We are Ian, Kate and Andrew. We are English (A couple about 70, going on 40!) and Kate's son.

    We have wi-fi internet access.

    We have 2 dogs who win the hearts of everyone they meet! We also have 5 cats, also very friendly and we have 4 pet ducks.

    We do not have TV. We love music and there is usually something playing. Food is good, wholesome with multi-cultural roots.

    We are currently putting up a building on site (see below). We offer flexible hours - agreed between you and us: 25 hrs per week.

    We live in a village with 2 shops/pubs. It is 4 kms from Dobrich, a city of 65,000 people; 30 km from the sea, including either quiet beaches or lively resorts - a bus ride away.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    You will see life in a rural village (a common method of transport is a horse and cart) but is only 4kms from a city. You can explore farther afield, buses are very cheap. You can learn some Bulgarian!

  • Help

    Help

    We have a large garden (whole site is 1850 m2) and it is now largely landscaped but there is a long way to go yet.

    Obviously, it has been very strange for the last three years with Covid19 holding us up considerably.

    We are putting up a new building on the plot so there will be work there. If you have any experience in DIY, it will be welcome.

    There are are a lot of examples of why we need a welder on site. If you can weld you will be very welcome; we have the equipment but not the skill, yet.

    There is much painting and varnishing to be done, inside and out and fencing jobs to do. There are other areas of the garden requiring less skilled work: digging, planting, weeding, lawn mowing and strimming.

    Ian is a qualified TEFL (Teaching English as a Foreign Language) teacher so can give help and guidance with your English, if required.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    Bulgarian: Beginner
    Greek: Beginner
    Spanish: Beginner
    French: Beginner

    This host offers a language exchange
    This host has indicated that they are interested in sharing their own language or learning a new language.
    You can contact them directly for more information.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Accommodation is in a modernised, separate building: double/twin bedroom (your own front door}, with en-suite toilet/shower.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    You can stay with us AND stay/work with other people in Bulgaria or elsewhere, or explore the country and then come back to us. There is no obligation. The beaches are a bus ride away: take your pick from loud, busy tourist beaches to quiet places.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    This host can provide space for campervans.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    max 25 hrs, 5 days a week - flexible

Host ref number: 8471641454d5

Feedback (13)



Photos

Feedback

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (4.5)

Communication: (5.0)















Join our eco-spiritual project in a mountain valley close to the border with Macedonia
Village 60KM Burgas City, the Black Sea, Airport and more in Bulgaria