Come and help me around my countryside home and land in Jaunannas Pagasts, Latvia

Country

Latvia

Favourited 18 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    4  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    24/11/2020

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

  • Badges

 
  2020 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    So... I own a countryside property (3.5 ha of land + 7 ha of forests) in the middle of a forest (1.5 km from a road and the nearest neighbour) that I want to turn into my own home. I design and build my own buildings in different techniques (so far a cottage of rammed earth, a sauna of cordwood, a storage house of sea-container and a greenhouse of plastic), clear the land from bushes and grass and tend to a garden of sorts. I also have a patch of land with high-bush blueberries that need some 180-turnaround in order for them to thrive.

    The things that I need help with this season are the following...
    -Building a garage/workshop (timber frame + light straw clay) + rocket mass heater
    -Tearing down the old house
    -Building a small cottage out of the materials from the old house + simple wood stove
    -Finishing up the outside toilet
    -Planting trees in my newly acquired forest land
    -Disassembling an old, rundown caravan

    Then there are also long term work...
    -Coming up with an idea for a cash crop
    -Setting up a permaculture garden (space has been set aside)

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    General Maintenance

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    You will learn how to build with odd materials. Other skills and mindsets will come along with the work.
    I don't represent Latvian cultural heritage but you will hear me play piano and sing from time to time. There are occasional local culture events that I attend so you will be welcome to join me.
    My plot of land is still raw- there are ideas to be implemented, experiments to be done and creativity to be welcome.
    I would like you to bring a new point of view on concepts I have known for a long time.

  • Help

    Help

    If you have hands and a sense of responsibility then it's good enough!

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    Latvian (Lettish): Fluent
    Swedish: Fluent
    Russian: Intermediate

    This host offers a language exchange
    This host has indicated that they are interested in sharing their own language or learning a new language.
    Please contact them directly for more information.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    There is sauna for you to live in. It has a table, chairs, place on the floor for mattress to sleep on and toilet outside. The door can be locked if the need be. If it's cold, you are welcome to get the fireplace going that provides more than enough heat.
    You will have to take care of your own meals as I usually am quite busy and don't have time to prepare common meals. Gas stove is available.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    I can provide a bicycle to get around. The nearest village is 4 km away, the nearest town- 20 km away. There is a bus connection in the village.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    It's a countryside- there are literally hectares to park on.

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets

    This host has said they are willing to accept those travelling with a pet.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Max 5h/day and 5 days/week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (4.5)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)




Host ref number: 381952896751