Help at an exotic animal sanctuary and travel around Erdősmecske, South Hungary

Country

Hungary

Favourited 881 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    29  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    08/01/2021

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    3001

  • Badges

    Top Host
    Facebook verified
 
  2021 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hi there! My name is Sharon, I'm a Belgian girl who decided to move to Hungary to follow my dreams and start a small exotic animal sanctuary/zoo. And... it worked! Thanks to the help of a lot of people we are an official zoo now and always ready to take in abandonned exotic animals.
    This, offcourse, brings us a LOT of work and I can't do it alone. So if you love to work with animals, students, visitors, kids,.. and if you are not affraid to work a lot outside, in a crazy and international team, then please read our discription and contact me if you are really interested to help us out!

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    General Maintenance
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help with Eco Projects
    Help around the house
    Animal Care

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Mostly animal lovers can have a benefit of coming here. They can work with some special animals and learn more about them and their daily care. It's not all about cuddling them, but also cleaning their cages and give them (medical) care. They can enjoy this beautiful country named Hungary and explore the nature of Baranya.

    NOTE: If you're a fullblooded animal activist who's against keeping or breeding animals in captivity, please don't contact me! We are very open people and we love to show everything and educate people. But we're not waiting to defend ourself in our own house and at our own work against closed-minded people. ;)

  • Help

    Help

    There is a lot of work to do in our place, We are looking for people who are flexible and don't mind to do a bit of everything. Cuddling the animals is also one of our tasks, but there is soooo much more:

    *️ Daily animal care
    We have a lot of secondhand animals that need a lot of care. First of all the daily care such as providing water, preparing the food and cleaning the cages, But also medical care, training and socialisation of animals.

    *️ Guiding visitors
    Starting from march the sanctuary opens again for visitors. We ask our volunteers to guide these people (in the English, German or Hungarian langauge), show them the animals and most important: make sure they follow the rules of the zoo by all time.

    *️ Upgrade the center
    This project is only taking it first steps so there is still a lot of work to do to make it more beautiful, better for the animals and more attractive for the visitors. Enclosures need to be repaired, new ones are build and education must be provided. We always hope to have some creative volunteers to help us out.

    *️ Students and meals
    In our center we welcome a lot of students. It is a wonderful oppertunity for them to see new animal species and learn how to care for them. We ask our volunteers to help these students exploring everything.
    We eat together 3 times a day (students, volunteers and myself). All meals are provided, but sometimes we can ask students or volunteers to help us out with cooking and the dishes.


    We are looking for people who ar trustworthy and are very independent. Someone with love for animals and nature and is not affraid to work (a lot).

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    Dutch: Fluent

    This host offers a language exchange
    This host has indicated that they are interested in sharing their own language or learning a new language.
    Please contact them directly for more information.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    As a volunteer you will have your (sometimes shared) room with electricity, WIFI and more. You will share a living room, kitchen and bathroom/toilet with our students who live in the same house. This guest house is located in the area of the sanctuary.

    We provide 3 meals a day, also on your days off. Going out or eating something on another location than our zoo is for your own expenses, I am not vegetarian or vegan myself but I would love to learn how to cook these meals, so don't let your food choice stop you from coming to this place,

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We're outside a city, but that doesn't mean you can't go there. At some days we offer transfers to Pécs. Pécs is the 4th biggest city in Hungary and an amazing place for students. You can find anything there. If you want to discover more places in Hungary, you can get a train from Pécs train station to, as example, Budapest or Balaton.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    This host can provide space for campervans.

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets

    This host has said they are willing to accept those travelling with a pet.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Our rescued wolfdog Kato is one of the many animals at our center

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (4.9)

Cultural exchange: (4.6)

Communication: (5.0)



















Host ref number: 245893947824