Last minute

Amanda

  • United Kingdom
  • Login to see last activity

Badges (5)

Top Workawayer
Explorer
Photographer
Facebook verified

Profile is connected to:

Profile information

  • Travel information

    I am currently

    Travelling

    My next destination:

    Colombia - from Nov 2022 until Feb 2023
    View all
  • Description

    Buenos Dias - Bom Dia - Good Day :)

    LOOKING FOR OPPORTUNITIES IN COLOMBIA (MEDELLIN from 4/5 February. Ideally, creative opportunities.

    PROFESSIONAL ARTIST AVAILABLE - JANUARY - MARCH 2023

    My next journey begins in Colombia.

    I am a very young ‘50’ year old artist. My work is predominately murals on flat surfaces like walls. My style is colourful, surreal, visionary, graphic art. My visionary art is a world where I can share this visually through a brush or paint stroke…

    I am also an art therapist and can help people work through their traumas using the art process.

    I am looking to connect to mindful hosts who need help with anything artistic, creative, e.g making things, murals, teaching, gardening cooking, or looking after guests.

    I’d really like to learn some basic Spanish, or some other life skills that I can take away with me. I believe my life is a constant learning process.

    I did my first workaway in July 2014 in Thailand where my journey began, immersed in the tropical jungle of Koh Lanta, staying in a bamboo hut - for me, this started an evolving journey travelling around the world.
    This current/newest journey is sending me to central and South America and I am extremely excited for this new venture.

    (Here is a summary of the volunteer placements I’ve had).

    July 2014 in Thailand, working at 'clayzyhouse hostel' where everything was made from driftwood, clay and found materials.

    2014 I painted the signage for an art hostel in Koh Lanta. (See profile pictures).

    2015 in Australia I was working in permaculture, designing and building projects from wood.

    2016 - Tasmania, Australia, making vegetable gardens using permaculture, helping with cob building, using reclaimed glass bottles as windows. Making and painting a recycled pallet table using the principles of permaculture. Made a sturdy butchers block on wheels from blue gum wood, felled on the property.

    2017 In Croatia, I was working in another hostel painting an Egyptian themed mural (see photos).

    2018 - During my time in Portugal, I was asked to paint a caravan and decided to base the theme of the animals that were present at the farm, changing the horse to a unicorn. This opened up many possibilities for me and I won a competition for my mural.

    2019- 2021 - More recently I have been working on a giant mosaic using tiles found from the trash or from a beach clean up. During my time on Pico I realised that volcanic rocks are porous and easy to sculpt. So my newest passion is making stone faces from rocks.

    2020- 2021 Island of Pico in The Azores working in various hotels and air b n b's painting various murals and commissions. Making artwork projects from found and recycled materials, trying to make use of the things other people throw away.

    2021 - I stayed on the island of Faial and Sao Miguel in the Açores, creating raised vegetable beds, using permaculture, planting seeds for the guests of tomorrow. I also created some volcanic face sculptures from rock.

    2022 - UK, working at the Majushri Buddhist Meditation Centre in the art studio fixing the mouldings and plaster castings for sacred stupas, together with other gold leaf mouldings for the Buddhist temple.

    2022 - UK, working in a coffee shop/cafe serving coffee, vegan and vegetarian soup, sandwiches, teas and snacks. Learning barista skills with the coffee machine.

    2022 - Açores, (Faial) Setting up a brand new vegetable garden - using permaculture principles.

    2022 - North Portugal, learning to use my creative skills to produce dream catchers from branches in nature.

    2022 - Viana Do Castelo, Northern Portugal. Collaborative mural for the Portuguese version of burning man.

    2022- Malagan mountains of Southern Spain, helping to construct an outdoor kitchen made from recycled materials

    2022- Alicante, Cocentina mountains, child minding three gorgeous children and working on a Goddess themed canvas painting.

    2022- San Jose, Costa Rica, Mural at hostel escalante at the front entrance of the property.

    2022 - Nosara, Costa Rica, housesitting and mural painting.

    2022- Pavones, Costa Rica, sign painting for a hostel - Esperanza.

    2022 - San Jose, Costa Rica, garden mural - tropical Caribbean theme.

    2022 - Bocas Del Torro, Panama, tree frog and insect graphic art mural.

    2022- Puerto Viejo, Costa Rica, Phoenix wall mural.

    2023-‘EL RIO Hostel, Buritaca, Colombia graphic design for promotional music and a mural for the entrance.

  • Interests

    Mountain
    Beach
    Nature
    Camping
    Yoga / Wellness
    Cycling
    Dancing
    Outdoor activities
    Hiking
    Charity work
    Gardening
    Carpentry
    Sustainability
    Animals
    Languages
    Architecture
    Art & design
    Drawing & painting
    DIY & crafts
    Books

    show more
  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    Portuguese: Beginner

    More details about my language interests
    I taught English online for two years during my time in the Açores and I am able to teach this to anyone who needs help to improve. I used to be an Art teacher and I am able to guide people through the art process. I'd really like to learn Spanish and improve my beginner Portuguese.

    Find a language buddy

  • Skills and knowledge I'd like to share or learn

    Some knowledge of:  

    General Maintenance
    Life at a Farmstay
    Helping around the house
    Animal Care
    Hospitality/Tourism
    Charity Work
    Helping with Computers/ Internet
    Being an elderly companion

    Able to teach about:  

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Babysitting and creative play
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Eco Projects
    Languages
    Art Projects
    Teaching
  • More details about your skills

    A bit more about my skills....
    I try to live a simple life using my art as a way to travel on a budget. I specialise in murals.
    I spent 22 years in a high school teaching Art and Design technology. I love spending time with people from all sorts of different cultures and backgrounds.
    I love cooking, especially healthy food and anything veggie or vegan.
    I was an online English teacher. I can cook, clean, and help around the house. I don't mind getting my hands dirty and I am happy to chip in with anything that is needed to help.I am a happy go lucky sort of person who is looking for a cultural experience and some awesome memories for my book of ‘life’.

    I am also a children's face painter and body painter. If you have any parties or festivals, then I can help out with this.

  • Age

    50

  • What else ...

    I have some experience of rebuilding and refurbishing houses. I spent three years renovating my own house. I have many skills using wood. I am confident using electric and hand tools.

    I am unable to do heavy manual work, this is because I broke my ankle in 3 places and have metal plates and pins supporting it.

    I am learning to play djembe and I was part of a drum circle.

    I enjoy yoga, meditation and mindfulness.

    I’m trying to be more present.

    I enjoy being surrounded in nature, swimming in the sea and eating an organic plant based diet.

    I love being around awakened, mindful, uplifting, joyous, kind and loving human beings.

    I appreciate my alone time and need it sometimes - in order to recharge my batteries. :)

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements

Feedback



Friends

Photos

Competition photos

Feedback