A bit of Kansas horse country next to the city in USA

Country

United States

new host  

Favourited 27 times


  • rating

    Host rating

    Not yet rated
  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    09/10/2019

  • paid opportunity

    Host offers payment

     

Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    I run a busy horse program with lots of extra animals. They need attention and love. We teach kids and adults to ride. Board Horses, train horses, horse camps, and all kinds of equine activities. Our farm is located in Derby Kansas on 80 acres. We love sharing our country lifestyle. Horses are the primary focus but we also have goats, sheep, pigs, cattle, chickens and you never know what else I might bring home. We also have rentals and do camping! So it is a busy lifestyle for us. Looking for help with trimming up the riding trails, caring for our animals, so it is a lot of hands-on activities. We have been in business for over 30 years, taught thousands of people to ride and have had top competitors in the horse world. I'm looking to branch out and give back to the community and explore new avenues, meet new people, share the fabulous environment of the farm that I love so much.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    General Maintenance
    Farmstay
    Animal care

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    I can provide housing, a great environment, education on farm life. Some horseback riding. We do work a lot and spend our time in the barns. We will pay a minimum wage for the hours you work. We get all the farm fresh eggs we could want, and raise our own beef, pork, and have a garden. This is a chance to see a working horse farm first hand and learn about and interact with the farm animals. You are welcome to walk around the farm and enjoy the animals and fresh air.

  • Host offers a wage in line with the minimum wage

    Host offers a wage in line with the minimum wage

    This host offers accommodation and payment.

  • Help

    Help

    I am looking for someone who is interested in farm life. We do it all ourselves. Feeding, cleaning, mowing, repairs, gardening, etc. We work in all kinds of weather, our hours vary depending on what is happening. It's best to be in good shape, love animals, and be flexible. The suggested work schedule is M-F from 8:00 am to 12:00 Noon but I am flexible on the hours. There is also horseback riding involved.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English some spanish

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We have several options for housing, One is housing is in a trailer house on the farm with 3 bedrooms, a share a bathroom, living room, kitchen, and laundry. The house is shared by 3 people sometimes 4. Each person is responsible for their own food. Other options are staying in one of our rentals and laundry facilities are available.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We are located just 4-5 miles from the city. If you do not have transportation we can see that you get to the store weekly. Wichita Kansas is a fascinating place with lots to see and do.
    Everyone is expected to have a pleasant attitude, help with any and all duties needed on the farm. Some days are simple others are very involved. We are located just 4 miles from the bus stop so if you like to travel by bus you can get all over the city. Wichita Kansas is a great place to visit especially if you like Airplanes, we are known as the air capital of the world. Wichita has lots of activities and interesting places to visit; Explorations Place, Botanica, Old Cowtown, Sedgwick County Zoo, Tanganyika Wildlife Park, Wichita Art Museum, and many many for interesting things to do. You will have the opportunity to meet a lot of interesting people at the farm, we have customers coming all the time that love to talk and enjoy the outdoors. We are willing to help you find things that will interest you while you are here.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    5 days a week M-F 8-12

Host ref number: 143963342998