Blake & Ellie

  • United States
  • Login to see last activity

Badges (3)

Super Workawayer
Email verified
Explorer

Profile information

  • Travel information

    We are currently

    Travelling

    Our next destination:

    Czech Republic - from Jun 2024 until Jul 2024
    View all
  • Description

    Hello we're Ellie and Blake,
    Thanks for looking at our profile!

    We met on the Island of Oahu in 2021 and after two years in the beautiful Hawaiian sun, we said goodbye to our home, friends, jobs, and our pet fish to become Workawayers. We started our travels in July of 2023 to become students of organic farming.

    We dream of one day owning land and animals to reduce our dependence on the system. After living on a small island with a large appetite, volunteering on farms and even keeping our own small garden, we learned how important growing organic food is for yourself and also for the environment. We're inspired by all the small farmers who care about the same mission we do. We're excited to expand our friendships and knowledge through WorkAway.

    Now let's get personal, read on to hear a little more about our stories!

    I'm Ellie and I was born in Salt Lake City, Utah. I grew up riding horses and sneaking new pets into the house with my sisters. My passion for farming started with my dad's salsa, we gathered all the vegetables from his garden and would mix them together for a tasty treat. Fresh ingredients cannot be beat. Later, I traveled to Big Island, Hawaii for a internship on an organic farm and that's where I decided I wanted to do this as a career. Being outside in the dirt is mentally healing and good for your body. I got lucky when I met Blake, who is very eager to travel an

    I'm Blake and I grew up in the beautiful state of Colorado. I was raised in a family of mountain loving skiers, so my appreciation for adventure and the outdoors began at a young age. I've always had a passion for exploring the globe, and living in new locations. A short time after moving to Hawaii in 2021 I met Ellie on the beach, the cutest farmer girl I'd ever laid my eyes on. We began volunteering on farms together down the coast of Oahu and this is where my love for farming and the farming community began. Nothing beats being paid in fresh vegetables and working with your friends everyday. Everything has happened so naturally, and it just feels right, so here I am years later traveling with my farmer girl and eager to learn more.

  • Interests

    Van life
    Videography
    Water sports
    Winter sports
    Events & social
    Beach
    Carpentry
    Hitchhiking
    Camping
    Drawing & painting
    History
    Music
    Writing
    Vegetarian or vegan
    Self development
    Sustainability
    Plant care
    Photography
    Pets
    Outdoor activities

    show more
  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Beginner

    More details about my language interests
    Would be very interested in learning your language!

    Find a language buddy

  • Skills and knowledge we'd like to share or learn

    We're interested in:  

    Art Projects
    Eco Projects
    Teaching
    Gardening
    Animal Care
    Life at a Farmstay
    Babysitting and creative play
    Helping around the house
    Hospitality/Tourism
    General Maintenance

    Some knowledge of:  

    Charity Work
    Being an elderly companion
    DIY and building projects
    Helping with Computers/ Internet

    Able to teach about:  

    Languages
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
  • More details about your skills

    Blake - I enjoy work that allows me to exercise my creativity like marketing, and also work that gets me outside like landscaping and farming. I've had a variety of different jobs in these areas. I worked for landscaping companies throughout high school and college, some residential and others commercial. I've done projects like tree planting, building retaining walls, installing sprinkler systems, and mulching. Also more commercial maintenance like mowing lawns, and weed whacking. This taught me how to work hard and get things done efficiently. In Hawaii I worked for a place called Ko Farms where I did a lot of weeding and gathering produce for custom orders. I've also been digital marketing for a few years now doing some graphic design work, developing marketing campaigns, and doing some social media management. I'd love to have my own company one day maybe selling products from our little farm!

    Ellie - I have also worked for a landscaping group , they were an all woman based company to help bring the woman's touch to nature. We focused on planting native species for drought resistant lawns. I spent 3 years at Gem Studio which is a silversmithing company that teaches people how to make silver rings, necklaces, bracelets, earrings from scratch using torches to fire metals together and hammers to shape your piece. If you're looking to get crafty, I would love to join you. I've worked for farms in all types of climates, like Utah's desert to Hawaii's tropical soils. I can help you pick veggies suitable for your land or start a nursery.

  • Age

    27 & 23

  • What else ...

    Ellie - I might leave a book or two in exchange for one of yours! If you own a chess board we will definitely have to play a match. I bring crafting supplies with me everywhere I go to keep busy, you'll find me mainly crocheting warm clothes (I forgot to pack) or making earrings. I'm a vegetarian for environmental reasons, and I love cooking with lots of spices. I enjoy beer that is locally brewed, please let me know if you have any favorites.

    Blake - I love rock climbing, hiking, skateboarding, skiing, and watersports. One of my favorite hobbies is pickling foods, and I had a small pickling business on Oahu called "Diamond Head Pickle Factory". All organic of course! I also love reading autobiographies/biographies and learning about other people's life stories.

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies
      Blake is allergic to tree nuts (almonds, cashews, pistachio, walnut, etc)

    • Special dietary requirements

Feedback



Photos

Friends

Feedback