Help me with an eco-friendly construction project with natural materials in Lajes das flores, Portugal

Country

Portugal

Favourited 37 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    2  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    26/07/2021

 
  2021 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    My name is Jamie, I am starting a construction project on a beautiful piece of land in the forest. I am looking for those with either experience or interest in natural construction, particularly round house construction. We will be principally using the materials at hand because the land is a 30 minute walk away from the nearest road. The roundhouse is to be a meeting place and especially a place to reconnect with the earth, cleanse the body and soul, and heal. It's a dream i have, i would love to make it happen! Those helping with the construction project will need tents and camping gear.
    My current living space is a simple setup with an emphasis in incorporating native and wild plants in the garden as well as medicinal plants. I also have goats and chickens for milk, eggs and meat. Located in a cozy valley, my house is very simple and has a wood stove, solar panel. It was constructed principally with surrounding materials including clay and wood. 15 minutes near the village of Fazenda das Lajes, a foot path through the forest, beautiful and isolated.
    A great place for getting closer to earth and to yourself.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Farmstay help
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    General Maintenance

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Visitors would learn about wild plant foraging and natural alimentation/plant medicine and identifying plants. Also about natural building and natural/elemental living and gardening. Musical exchanges, musicians very welcome! A great place for experimentation also.

  • Help

    Help

    I need help with setting up temporary living space, cutting trees, moving logs, clearing land, cooking with fire, setting up campsite, moving materials, construction. Experience with chainsaw a plus.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    French: Fluent
    Portuguese: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Visitors will be camping on site, food will be provided.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    A short hike to the ocean where you can fish and swim.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets

    Dogs welcome as long as they do not chase chickens or goats.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week



Host ref number: 499824166616