Mark

From: Austria

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Finland, Myanmar, Poland, Romania, Sri Lanka

  • ...

    Travel dates

    31/07/2018 - 05/02/2019

  • Badges

    Explorer
    Top Workawayer

  • Description

    hi, my name is Mark from Austria. I love to travel and the road is something magical to me. This is where I meet new people, see beautiful landscapes and learn the most about life and the world. I also like to write (fiction and travel stories, offline and online). For my life I have been a man of the mountains and seeked challenges in the snow and rock. Recently I spent several months rebuilding and sailing a boat in the Med and started using Workaway.info as a new way to travel and learn. So far, I participated in projects in Jordan, Spain, Cyprus, Albania, Ireland, Latvia and Finland - mostly working on websites and marketing, carpenting and garden work. As the year moves on, I want to continue with the idea of working and living in a place for a temporary period of time, preferably in East Europe and Asia. My professional backround is academic (teaching at universities information science and marketing mostly) and self-employed (as an IT and business consultant) and travel related (I have my own online expedition travel agency).

  • Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Elderly Companion
    General Maintenance
    Farmstay
    Other
    Help with Eco project
    Animal care
    Helping with Tourists
    Language practice
    Help with Computers / internet
    Teaching

  • What skills do you have?

    Computers: everything from setting up, designing and maintaining web pages (different CMSs like Wordpress); writing content (very good in english, best in german language);
    Gardening, construction, carpentry, mechanics: basic skills but I like it very much > I learn fast (as I needed during rebuilding of my sailboat)
    Teaching: I can teach a wide area of subjects (business administration, german language, information science, but also sport activities like rock climbing or skiing)
    Travel business: organizing trips and contact with clients; all type of management tasks

  • Languages spoken

    english, german, french, spanish

  • Age

    47

  • Nationality

    Austria

  • What else ...

    When I am in the mountains, my preferred activities are ski touring, rock climbing and hiking. I like to read and discuss topics, and being outdoors is one of my pleasures. For me, to learn means to live.
    If you are interested in my travels, my blog is (in german): http://www.super-gsi.net

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements

Photos

Feedback